BKK or One Night in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 27th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Thailand, hello from Bangkok!

Arrived around 9:00pm, through customs (again a breeze!) and straight onto a taxi to 'the Oriental Bangkok please'... WOW first huge THANKS to W & Ws P&M. This place was a dream. With just one night I decided here would be the place to splash out. Am I glad I did. A beautiful historic old hotel right on the river. My room had a view of the whole thing and a personal butler (!?). I didn't want to leave the room but just had to DRAG myself down to the patio (on the river) to enjoy a cocktail...sigh...never seen anything quite like it. So wonderful! Sat there well past midnight just soaking it all in. I was given an invitation to participate in an early morning ceremony of giving food and alms to monks in celebration of the hotels 130 anniversary. Was tough to leave the fabulous king size bed that early but it really was worth it. Then...THE POOL (does that sound shallow or what?)! 2 hours later (I needed that!) I headed out and wandered around the area. Reminded me of Kuda...only 1000 times larger and 1000000 times busier. Remembered Len.
RiverRiverRiver

at night view from my room

Time flys (and I forgot my 'after bite' damn) and back on a cab to the airport and into a huge thunder storm. Walking through the airport you could hear the loud bangs...I think people who didn't know there was a storm though they were explosions. Lounge was ok. Huge...lots of snacks, computer (with a chatty W! yay!!) but NO WINDOWS...sigh...6.5/10. Onto Dubai...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

and relaxand relax
and relax

on the river side


Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb