You've lost that luggage feeling


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 22nd 2010
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sunday evening and an interesting couple of days but for all the wrong reasons.

My flight from Hong Kong was with Ethiopian Airways, continuing on from Bangkok to Addis Ababa. I wasn’t expecting much and I wasn’t disappointed. When I saw the state of the cabin, I just hoped that they had spent a bit more on maintaining the engines than on the interior. The flight was absolutely crammed full – probably workers heading home from Hong Kong for the holidays. The amount of luggage some of the Africans rolled up with was unbelievable and there was a sign at check-in to warn them of a 5 bag maximum. I had just the one bag – and they left it behind in Hong Kong. Yes, the moment every traveler dreads: you’re standing by the carousel when you start to realize that a) you’re the last person there and b) there are no more bags on the belt. This time there were about 6 of us in the same boat. So at half past midnight we all headed for the lost baggage office. They were very helpful and got straight on the case (no pun intended). My immediate concen was that the bag was left on the plane and would be heading for Africa but after about 15 minutes, they reported the news – my bag definitely wasn’t on the plane and had already been “found” back in Hong Kong. So, with a promise that it would be on the morning flight and I would have it back by mid-afternoon, I headed for the hotel at about 1:30 a.m.

I stayed at a hotel near the airport: cheap, clean and cheerful on the edge of an industrial estate but no complaints. After a late breakfast, a taxi ride across the city to the hotel where the tour actually starts. It’s the Royal Hotel in Central Bangkok, which sounds awfully grand, but it’s not. Believe me, it’s a dump. It seems to be used by all the tour companies and I can only assume that they get a fantastically cheap rate. I don’t mind “basic” hotels but I don’t have much sympathy for places that are just shabby and dirty. Ah well, just for 1 night!

Early start Monday morning for the flight to Chiang Rai. There’s only four people managed to make the start of the holiday so far due to the snow back at Heathrow. I’ll let you know more about that next time!

Sorry no pics - this Internet cafe doesn't seem to allow them :-(



Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb