Where it all began-Thailand!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 7th 2010
Published: September 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first Buddah shrine!My first Buddah shrine!My first Buddah shrine!

Thought this was kinda cool when I saw it in my hostel on my first nite, till I realised that they were as common as trees in Ireland!
Now for a little bit of a catch up as to what I've been up to before I got to China. So left Ireland on 2nd July landed into Bangkok a day later because of the 6hr time difference. Made it from airport to my hostel with no difficulties definitely my first big achievement considering how bad I am with directions.... Spent 2 nights in Bangkok wandered around had a look at some "templey things", took private taxi boat down the river stopping at various locations (and just to point out here this was the first time I was properly ripped off, paid a crazy price as my mind hadn't got used to conversion rates yet so I was the silly naive tourist I learned my lesson the hard way!). Actually in my first 2 days I had my phone robbed, lost my wallet then thought I lost my passport, all of which I recovered so point to note start looking after things a bit more carefully... jeez def was a stressful beginning!! Had some drinks in the hostel both nites with some new found friends, nothing hectic as I decided to give myself time to adjust, my next two trips back to Bangkok were far from quiet however.....

Then on to Chiang Mai, in Northern Thailand 12hr overnight bus journey (just the first of my MANY bus journeys yet to come....) Made a new friend, Luke on the bus and we ended up booking into same guesthouse together and hanging out for the 5 days. Had lots of fun watched some of the world cup here, did "flight of the gibbon" which was zip lining and abseiling through the rain-forest it was amazing, went on an elephant trek, did bamboo rafting and swam in an amazing waterfall. Also celebrated my birthday here, loved Chiang Mai and it was also so cheap could have spent way longer here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 206, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Buddah?!Buddah?!
Buddah?!

A random meditation centre I strolled into!


Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb