Teach Travel Asia - the only way to go!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 26th 2010
Published: July 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Teach Travel Asia (Kevin Meldau) - After graduating in the UK, it is not uncommon to take a year out, but I wanted a really life changing experience. I wanted to do something of value and that would stretch me (looks good on my CV, right?).

Well I couldn’t have found a better team than that of Teach Travel Asia. From the outset I had confidence in them, based on their in depth knowledge of the area and the teaching experience and challenges. Knowing that they had been through all the dramas and found how best to deal with them made me feel much more relaxed about going half way round to the world to teach people who’s language I had NEVER spoken before!

Arriving at the airport was an event in itself, leaving in 11 degrees heat and arriving to 34 degrees is quite a body shock but we are collected in an air conditioned bus and taken to our hotel that had been arranged for us. While fighting Bangkok traffic many of our questions from the flight were answered and many new ones! Confidence was rising all the time.

After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a cool scenic trip to what would become our “moo bahn” or village. We were picking up language from the support team as fast as we could and getting so great teaching tips. The training on Thai culture had been intense but it’s easy to see why it’s so important. Thai culture and language is so different and it’s great to have a few aces up your sleeve when meeting your new boss for the first time. Although I have to say meeting that first class full of kids was more daunting! I can’t tell you for sure who was more scared, but I have a feeling it was me! I had no need because these kids are so welcoming and pointers I had got from Teach Travel Asia’s support and trainers (thanks Somchai, Amornrat and Kevin!) made the transition from traveler to teacher a joyful one.

I’d just like to say a big thank you to the whole team who were on hand throughout this awesome experience. I’m sure I must have asked some daft questions so, thanks for having all the answers and more.

Anita - Cambridge


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb