Journey to Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 2nd 2010
Published: March 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

HostelHostelHostel

The entrance to the hostel.
Today I left Phuket and headed north to Bangkok, Thailand’s capital and most well known city. I left the guesthouse at 6:50 and was shocked to see my taxi outside waiting for me. He was early! After the last few days of late transportation I thought for sure I’d be waiting around again.

I made it to the bus with time to spare and picked up a few items to eat and drink at the 7-Eleven in case we didn’t have decent meal and drink stops. The bus departed on time - two-for-two on punctuality today.

Along the 12 hour journey I read, caught up on my journal entries and gazed out the window at the countryside. I’m really glad I’ve been able to take buses so far since you see much more of a country that way - not just airports and cities.

For lunch, we stopped at a large dining area that seemed to be geared towards buses. Lunch, a delicious Thai meal comprised lots of vegetables, chicken and shrimp, was included with my ticket.

In the afternoon, the driver threw on a movie. It might have been Avatar but I couldn’t tell. There were
My roomMy roomMy room

My bed is the lower one.
blue humanic characters that spoke Thai through sound dubbing. I didn’t pay attention to this too much.

Just before 8:00 we arrived at the bus station - five minutes early. Again I was shocked. Following my cab ride to the hostel, I had just completed a full day’s travel without delay.

The hostel itself is nice. It’s a boutique hostel that is not near the bulk of the hostels in Bangkok on Khao San Road. For that reason it seems to be a much better place to stay; geared more towards travel and less towards a big party.

I hit the rack early tonight to rest up for a day of touring tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb