Temples and Tuk-Tuks!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 9th 2010
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So this is entry one in my whistlestop, Round the World adventure. At the moment I am in Bangkok although it is my last day here as I am off to Ko Samui this evening.
Bangkok, has been amazing. (Please forgive any subsequent overuse of the word 'amazing'..or 'exciting', for that matter)
It is a great city. Excuse me if I'm stating the obvious here but it is massive and hot. It is a vast, sprawling, seemingly chaotic place. It is confusing. So given my appalling navigational skills, complete lack of a sense of direction and my propensity for getting lost I have mostly opted for travel in public taxis or tuk-tuks, which are actually very cheap and always only seconds away on any Bangkok street. The city is great like that, it seems chaotic but is, on my reckoning, actually highly efficient. I've waited hours and walked miles in search of a taxi in Paris on any occasion that I've needed one, but here - if you have a need and some money to spend - you get your desired service - almost instantly.
There is the obvious seedy side to the above formula but, either I'm too naive to have spotted it, or I've avoided those parts of town.
I arrived on Saturday afternoon, and spent much of the next 24 hours sleeping or lounging poolside. The place I have been staying in is actually a very residential, quiet and non-touristy area West of the river which has been perfect for post long-haul recharging.
Then when I've wanted to get a bit of the Bangkok bustle I've headed towards the centre. My first port of call was the Khao San Road, the epicentre of Thailand's backpacker land. Took in the atmosphere there and found some little back streets off the main Khao San Road where the atmosphere was a little more chilled. Drank a big, ice cold Singha beer in a very nice courtyard bar with Buddha statues aplenty and oversized water features. The people were a good mix of Western backpackers and Thai youngsters. The only slight hiccup occurred when I realised I'd ventured out into central Bangkok for the first time with only 120 Thai Baht. Sounds like plenty but is the equivalent of about two pounds fifty. Luckily there are ATMs everywhere so that was quickly rectified.
Next day I got up really early to take in some temples ('Wat' in Thai) and sights before it got too hot and before the crowds arrived. I started at the Wat Arun (Temple of the Dawn) at about 7.15am and had the place to myself apart from some people setting up their stalls and Buddhist monks. These places are not just kept as tourist sights, they are fully functioning monasteries and places of worship. (At this time in the morning the monks outnumber civilians by about 3:1.) Needless to say it was very peaceful. Then I went over the river on a local shuttle ferry to Wat Pho, another temple complex which houses the huge, golden 'Reclining Buddha' (46m long and 15m high) and more monks, of course.
Then onto the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew (Temple of the Emerald Buddha) by which time the crowds and heat had built considerably. As it was approaching lunchtime, I headed home via a noodle soup stand, and cooled off back in my air conditioned apartment.
I have eaten very well here, the highlight being a lemongrass and galangal soup (50 baht - about 1 pound)
So all in all, a great start. Now onto the bit I'm really excited
Luckily, I really like Buddha statues.Luckily, I really like Buddha statues.Luckily, I really like Buddha statues.

If you don't, then this part of the World may not be your thing.
about - Thailand's islands and beaches! My first stop is Ko Samui, an island south of Bangkok in the Gulf of Thailand.





Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Wat Pho with many stupas.Wat Pho with many stupas.
Wat Pho with many stupas.

(Stupas are the pointy things).
Me on the river shuttle.Me on the river shuttle.
Me on the river shuttle.

Longtail boat and Wat Arun behind me.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb