Entry 1


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 15th 2010
Published: January 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sawasdee krab

The journey has begun. Not that I minded the hour trip to LA, but the six hour layover made a long trip even more difficult. On the plane from LA to Taipei, Taiwan, I watched a Star Trek movie and wondered why Captain Pickard could not beam me to Taipei instead of sitting for 14 hours and 35 minutes. What a relief to get off that plane, but only for an hour, and then it was time to board another plane for Bangkok - another 1700 miles to travel. So, I left the house at 6:30 am Monday morning and arrived in BKK at 2:00 am on Wednesday. Somebody owes me a Tuesday - missed it all together crossing the International Date Line.

Arriving at BKK at 2:00 am has its benefits and disadvantages. The airport is not as busy and the Bangkok traffic is not as bad. Even small shops are open at 3:30 in the morning. Fortunately, the driver was waiting at the airport and the trip to the condo was not bad at all. Despite the help of my Thai friends, I still do not have internet access in the condo and I have had to resort to packing up and finding an internet café. That’s not too bad either - that is the way many of the locals do it.

Tomorrow (actually in just a few hours as my body and mind is still on U.S. time, my Thai friend is going to take me to the beach area of Rayong to look at some condos that are for sale.
Hopefully I will be posting some pictures soon. I haven’t taken any yet and since my internet connection is limited, I figured it was no big deal. Oh, and BKK is hot even in its cool season. Hot and humid.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb