The Bonster is in Bangkok!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 19th 2005
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bonster in Bangkok
I'm in a new country now
Driver on the right side!

Okay, just a quick note to let y'll know that I arrived safe and sound in Bangkok. I left my hotel in HCM City around 9:30 and didn't get to my hotel here in Bangkok until close to 4PM! And it was only a 1 hour 10 minute flight! DOH!

Well, I got to the HCM airport without much fanfare. It was once I got out of the taxi that things were a bit crazy. People everywhere. Luggage everywhere. Nobody really moving. My first thought was "where the hell is the entrance for passengers?" After a few minutes I figured it all out and made my way towards the first of many x-ray machines. It's just crazy. I think the Vietnamese do not know the concept or meaning of a line-up/waiting your turn. lol So there was a big crush to put all of my belongings onto the conveyor belt and then somehow collect it all without getting crushed.

Next step was to try and figure out where the Thai Airlines counter was for check-in. Of course Thai Airlines was the ONLY airline that did not have signage! After walking by all of the counters I asked one of the airport workers "where is Thai airlines". Of course with my luck it was just about the farthest counter from where I was standing. DOH! I eventually make it to the counter and have to wait another eon just to get my bag tagged and checked in. BTW, my checked in bag only weighed in at 18KG..that's 13 KG lighter than the person in front of me...what did they buy??

Next up was to proceed to my gate...but not before having to submit all of my stuff to an xray scan. I'm not even sure why they did this second scan because the girl "manning" the x-ray monitor wasn't even looking at the monitor and was busy chatting with someone about 30 paces away!

An announcement was made that my flight was slightly delayed because it had arrived late. Then not two minutes later another announcement comes on saying that I can proceed to my gate for check-in. Okay. One last x-ray scan and I'm onboard the plane.

For a 1 hour 10 minute flight Thai Airways sure does go all out! First we were served a drink. Then a hot lunch. If I wanted I could have gotten some red or white wine as well! Then when we were about to land the stewardess' were handing out orchid corsages to all of the ladies! Crazy. The guy sitting next to me was flying to England via Bangkok for business. He's a Vietnamese national and he thought that I was Vietnamese. I think when I wear my glasses people think I'm Japanese; contacts Vietnamese?? His English was not the best so I'm really not sure what type of business he will be doing in England.

Then before I knew it, I was checked into my hotel just before 4PM. Phew! What a crazy day and I didn't really do anything! Bangkok is a crazy busy city. Lots of cars and tuk tuk's I tell ya! Driving along the highways it sort of felt like I was in the States...well except for the fact that there was Thai written everywhere. LOL Mind you there are quite a few billboards with English writing on them.

I'm excited about heading up North and eventually making it up to Chiang Mai to see the elephants and stuff starting tomorrow. I don't want to make any hasty decisions about Bangkok but it seems just like "another big city" to me. Perhaps I just have to give it a chance...

Okay, off to go see where I can change some monies and hopefully NOT buy anything…no room in the backpack!

Hugs and stuff,
Bonnie



Advertisement



Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb