TT1: Thailand Take 1


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 5th 2009
Published: October 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to a new countryWelcome to a new countryWelcome to a new country

The mandatory welcoming picture
After the reputation of the Bangkok airport, I've never been so impatient to get out of an airport. My bag seemed to take forever and customs officials extra suspicious. However since I am not begging for bail money, you can tell I got safely out of the airport.

There were taxis waiting outside the airport, and I approached them clutching hold of the customer complaints slip I was given just in case the taxi driver was out to rob me. Need not have worried, he had no English and laughed at me the whole way to my backpacker hangout.

The New Road Guest House was awesome, the first thing I saw in my room was a huge double bed and the first comfy mattress since I'd left home. I practically hugged the bed when I fell asleep.

I had two days before I met my new group and I was thankful to find the guest house had maps and were more than happy to suggest where to go and or to book you on a tour. After I looked out the door and saw how busy and confusing Bangkok was likely to be, I was more than happy
We all love a city overviewWe all love a city overviewWe all love a city overview

Taken from a perch on some random temple
to join with other people to see the main highlights.

I was told that only locals took the bus about and it was not advisable so my main methods of transport around the city were limited to - taxi, boat and the sky train. The boat was by far my favourite, it was cheap and like a floating public bus (standing room only!) so I took it up central Bangkok for a tour of the Grand Palace and the reclining Buddha.

The Grand Palace was interesting enough. I was disappointed that you couldn't go into more than one or two buildings but the statues were beautiful and so were the murals on the wall. The history of the place wasn't that long as Bangkok isn't exactly an old capital. It's worth seeing but I wouldn't say it was a huge highlight. The reclining Buddha was impressive, it was gold and took up an entire room! It was nearly impossible to get of it in its entirety. I took the boat back afterwards for dinner.

The only other bit of Bangkok that stands out was going to the Ladyboys show. They put on a brilliant cabaret with great
Grand PalaceGrand PalaceGrand Palace

It does look rather grand doesn't it
tongue and cheek. It was impossible not to notice and feel slightly jealous that they really did have great legs.

When I went to the hotel to meet my new travelling group, I wasn't sad to think I would be out of Bangkok the next morning. Perhaps when I see it again before I fly to Australia, it will leave more of an impression on me.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Inside the palaceInside the palace
Inside the palace

There's a lot of gold leaf around here
Reclining BuddhaReclining Buddha
Reclining Buddha

It's over 55m long
LadyboysLadyboys
Ladyboys

Loved the hair
Quite fetchingQuite fetching
Quite fetching

I bet everyone wishes they were standing where I am!


5th October 2009

*removes you from Ladyboys picture* *inserts self* :p

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb