reunion


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 11th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Asia!

I arrived in Bangkok last night after 17 hours of travelling. I can't complain however because Emirates is definitely the way to travel. The onboard service was so good I barely slept. They handout menus for everyone with the choice of appetizers, meals, and desserts, as well as hot towelets for your face on numberous occassions. A huge step up from Air Canada/West Jet. They have also totally mastered creating an amazing user experience with regards to the personal "entertainment system" they call ICE (information, communication, and entertainment). If you click on the information section, you can learn all about the aircraft, where exactly you are on the flight path, and even see a live camera feed from the front of the plane. Clicking on communication allows you to send emails, text messages, use the phone and even phone another seat on the plane (would have loved that as a kid), and finally entertainment had a huge selection of tv shows, movies, and video games. I couldn't have been happier on this flight. In fact the only thing that was slightly unpleasant was the elderly British lady beside me asking me a million questions. When I didn't feel like talking anymore I would put on my headphones or my sleeping mask. When I had my sleeping mask on I heard her telling her husband about what she had asked me about... poor man, I don't think she ever shuts up.

When I got to BKK airport, I picked the slowest customs line ever. I was actually the last person from my flight to get through. Poor Adam was waiting for me and started to get worried that I didn't get on my flight. We ended up finding eachother no problem.

Adam is a master at navigating Bangkok and I am so happy that I have him to show me around. Although most people have a basic grasp of english, the signage in the city is absolutely horrible and none of the signs are in English. It was really awesome to be able to go out and do things right away, use transit hassle free and have my own private tour guide. Yesterday when I arrived, we took it easy because I wasn't feeling so great on the second half of my flight. I think the typical travellers indigestion they talk about had finally caught up with me and I was just happy to make it to the hostel and take a break. The hostel where Adam has spent the last 11 days and where we stayed last night and tonight is really nice. Honestly, the only important part is that it has air-conditioning. It is bloody hot here. Turkey was hot, but not the humid, sweat dripping off your forehead hot that it is here. At night it cools down, but we drink 3 litres of water a day without going to the bathroom...that's how hot it is.

Today we woke up late (I'm slightly jet-lagged) and then headed to the Grand Palace. The palace was amazing and it was really cool to see all the little munks walking around. We walked around the nieghbourhood where the palace is and Adam brought for lunch at a little place he scooted out. Close to the river, this little restaurant grows all their own organic food. All the food was vegetarian, and it's not an exageration when I say that I think it was one of the best meals I have ever had. We had mixed fruit smoothies, a salad and a tofu curry. I don't know if I'll be able to eat thai food in Canada when I get back, because this curry topped anything I have ever eaten. The food in Turkey was amazing, and I thought Thailand would definitely be a step down. I told Adam I would eat at that restaurant every day for the rest of my life if I could. Before we left, the owner shared some leechees from her tree with us...absolutely delicious.

On the topic of food, tonight for dinner we went to a restaurant called Cabbages and Condoms (nope, it's not a typo). The restaurant is an NGO where all the profits go to HIV and AIDS awareness in Thailand. Some of the decorations in the restaurant are made out of condoms and at the end of the meal instead of dinner mints you get....yup, you guessed it. One of the items on the menu was "whole chicken with honey sauce". Adam ordered it for us to share because he was curious about what they meant by "whole chicken". He said he would be dissapointed if it didn't turn out to be an entire chicken. True to its description, when served, the plate had an ENTIRE chicken on it. It put swiss chalet to shame, and it only cost 3 canadian dollars. We had leftovers that we are going to make into sandwiches for our train ride tomorrow. Also, I have started the custom of making Adam order dessert. Not wanting to pry his wallet open too far, the man hadn't tried a single Thai dessert since he'd been here. I obviously ordered the most expensive one... banana fritter with ice cream, and it was delicious.

Tomorrow night we are taking an overnight train to Chang Mai (this is where Adam and Ryan previously went white water rafting and ziplining). We are staying at the same hostel because Adam knows the guy there and he is helping us arrange our visas and travel to Laos.

More from Chang Mai!

Lots of Love,

Nicole/Poke
xoxoxoxo

ps. For all you blog readers, Janee and Jonathan had their baby on Tuesday. A little girl (as we already knew) named Juliette Iona. She was 6 lbs 15 onces. Cec says the baby is absolutely beautiful and that Janee is doing well. Yipee! I can't wait to meet her when I get home!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb