An Ode to Masha and Comfort


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have been to Bangkok over 12 times.
I first stayed in a room costing 1 dollar fifty.
I later progressed to a room with a fan.
In recent months I've splurged for air con in the 100 degree heat and a TV playing Star Movies and limited BBC.

This time, Masha gave me the keys to her apartment.

I have never stayed in an apartmnet in Bangkok before.

And it's a Real Treat!
Washing machine I have to kick to start. Balcony. Comfy couch. Wifi! Ability to make eggs and toast!!!! I'm very near heaven.

Masha is an old Intrepid collegue of mine, one who used to sneak into town and leave chocolates in our work mailboxes, but never had too much time to hang out. She usually worked in Russia (she's Russian herself) but would dip down to Beijing to finish or begin the Trans Siberian railway route, breezing in with a bottle of Russian vodka, or a Chebarushka tshirt for me left secretly where only I would find it. A big fat smile and a' don't fuck with me' Russian attitude. I didn't even know what Russians were at that time. I only tought that they were generous. (and i still do, plus more thoughts, and that is an entirely different post)

I'm staying in Masha's flat in Bangkok right now. She works for GAP in BKK but she's been on the road for a month. She left me her key. She just left me her KEY! Her fridge is stocked with Vodka, buckwheat, pickles, and icecream. If you know me, you know I love Russia, and those ingredients are key Russian staples! I am living a Russian-Bangkok blend, and it is a fine compilation.

After spending one month on the road and rails through Tibet and Nepal, I have not slept a full night. I have been worried that pax would die of altitude sickness or that the bus would fall off the road, or that the pax would freak out because the toilet paper was too tough to sooth their, uh, guess! That sounds like a minute worry, but trust me, it INFLAMES!

But now it is finished. After a gorgeous month of being on the roof of the world seeing Tibet as it will only be just now, I am done. Cooked. And tender once again.

I finished a dream trip just a few short days ago. I met some people who brought out every smile line to fruition, who tested my stomach ulcers and my temples, but who ultimately brought it full circle: the endless knot. Nothing is permanent, and everything is connected. Dad, eat that and call me.

My point for this addition to the, sorry but hasn't been so 'routine blog,' is that now I have time to sink into me, and realize all the good energy that I have been lucky enough to endure, really. With Grandma Green going away, and not being home, to living in Tibet, and Nepal, and with so many other dynamic factors...

I'm here now, at this computer, and so thankful to be at Masha's flat, and to be able to talk a bit to friends and family in the way I wish. I want to hear from you too. Ask me questions and tell me what is going on.

I have been at altitude over 4000m for the past month, seen Mt. Everest Perfectly twice, dealt with sickness and intense feelings of connectedness through the basic needs which tingle forearm hairs of all nationalities...

anyway, now I can breathe again and am excited, so looking forward, to hearing from you all.

Will post pictures and tell Tibetan and Nepalese stories in the near future.

Until then, Namaste. Tashi Delek. Sawadeeka. And the sweetest of dreams.

Erin x



Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb