Things are very cheap here.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thai BeerThai BeerThai Beer

These are the most popular beer in Thailand, from what I can tell. The one on the left tastes better, but the one on the right has elephants on it. Thats why the elephant beer is my drink of choice here in Bangkok.
Prices are actually a big part of what makes Thailand so different from the U.S. In New York a decent meal is upwards $12, rent is ridiculous, and a cab ride to the airport can run you close to $50. In Thailand, I have discovered, this is not the case. One dollar gets you around 32 baht, which means...

A dinner is around $1.75
A cab ride to the airport (around, oh, say 45 minutes) is $15
A pair of shorts is about $6


There are, however, some things that are still just the same (or at least not crazy savings)...

A coke is around .50
A bottle of water is about .75
Electronics are about the same.

So what is the lesson to take away from this? Perhaps that I will buy several pairs of shorts while I am here.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

My apartment view againMy apartment view again
My apartment view again

Another picture of my view. Why another one you ask? Because this time it was cloudy out.
Yet another view from my apartmentYet another view from my apartment
Yet another view from my apartment

For those of you that say I've put up far too many apartment view related pictures, all I have to say is, this time it was a cool yellow color out.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb