Arrival


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 9th 2006
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

February 9, 2006
6:50am
Bangkok, Thailand

Well, after a LONG flight, I arrived in Bangkok. The flight from LA to Taipei was 15 hours. I sat next to a very nice Thai woman named Pat who lives in Florida, but she is visiting her family here for a month. She gave me her cell phone number in case I have any problems here. We had our own TVs at each of our airplane seats, which had lots of good movies to keep us entertained. After a brief layover in Taipei, we changed planes to Bangkok, and I slept pretty much the whole 3 hour flight. After I got of the plane, I got my visa stamp, through customs and luggage without any problems. After I came out of luggage claim (around 1:30am BKK time), there is a waiting area where a man stood with a card with my name on it. Hooray! I am glad I spent the extra money. There were a LOT of people offering rooms and a LOT of taxis - but I do have to say they did not harass me at all, which I thought they would. Anyway, I stood with my luggage until the hotel car came - a VERY NICE silver BMW. It was about a ½ hour drive from the airport to the hotel. I can’t explain the feeling, but is a bit surreal that I am here. Driving in the BMW on the freeway doesn’t feel like you are in another country, but when we got off the freeway, traffic was CRAZY! There are lots of areas I think that are called night markets - shopping, lots of foodstalls, and so many people! We also passed Subway, McDonalds, Burger King, and 2 Starbucks (more than in SLC I think!) It was 2am on a Wednesday night and it was so busy! Anyway, I checked into the beautiful hotel (Bangkok Davis) and tried to go to sleep. My room is gorgeous - marble bathrooms, slippers, nice sheets,minibar, etc. I will head down to breakfast in the hotel for a little bit. There is a Starbucks at my hotel too, thankfully, so hopefully that will help me get over my jet lag. It is warm and humid here, but not suffocating at all so far.

Well, off to breakfast and to find an ATM. Just wanted to let you know everything went as smoothly as I could have asked!

8:30am
Wow is all I can say! I could just stay at this hotel all day! The breakfast was so good. Pastries, fruit, fresh squeezed juice, good coffee, yum! An amazing buffet breakfast - and to think I was worried about being hungry! The 9th floor pool has an amazing view and the pool is the overflow style, long enough for lap swimming, lots of luxurious lounge chairs, glass enclosed, so nice! I think Buriram will be a shock, especially after this rich metropolitan area - I am in the business district. Anyway, love you all!


Advertisement



9th February 2006

Yikes, what a great start for your adventure. Enjoy the luxury while you can!
9th February 2006

Day 1
Jenn - I'm so happy to hear that everything is going so perfectly. I think of you being there and it IS surreal. I'm anxiously awaiting the next note and what do you know - there's another! I can't wait to read on. It's like an interactive adventure book where the reader grabs you right off the bat and you feel like you've been friends forever. ;) I just can't believe you're there! Enjoy the hotel - live it up babe! I'm so glad you went there first. I have to read on - - -
9th February 2006

WOO HOO!
Good for you, Jen. It sounds wonderful. Have a great time!!
10th February 2006

Yippee
Hey Jenn! I'm gald everything went well on the trip over! I hope you are having a blast. Enjoy the "rock star" treatment at the hotel.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb