Polyglot Alert


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I succeeded in buying my fruit supplies for the day from a street cart, whilst not using one word of English. True, it wasn’t a very in-depth conversation, consisting of me asking for ‘one pineapple, one watermelon’, asking ‘how much?’, handing over the correct amount, and saying ‘thank you’, but I was happy with myself. I also think I got the Thai price, as I usually pay 20 baht per portion, but this time only got charged 10 baht!

Advertisement



5th February 2006

Hello from home (one of them, anyway)
Hello Erin: I'm enjoying your diary very much, it's like travelling by proxy! Still think I'll stick with the old-fashioned journal, pen and water colours for my trips, neanderthal that I am. Were the words "pineapple" and "watermelon" in that little book?! Love, Geraldine
6th February 2006

New Job
Travel by proxy is exactly what this is! If you get stuck for a job then rest assured that travel writing is something you are good at! Please don't stop. Makes me want to pack a camera and go somewhere other than grey England!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb