Bangkok Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 23rd 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had orginally planned to stay in Vietnam two extra days after my parents went home on the 21st...changed my mind after two days of being in Vietnam and went to Bangkok on the 21st as well.

I am so glad that I did because I really like Bangkok although it's just has hot as Vietnam. I was a little nervous because I will be alone from this point on and really didn't know what to expect...plus I've never traveled alone before much less traveling alone in a foreign country. I should have known Bangkok would be better than HCMC. Thailand is known as the land of smiles and it's true starting off with the flight on Thai airlines. It was so nice to have the attendants smile, fold their hands and bring it to their face and bow say "Swadee Ka/Krub (female, male)" and speak clear English. For the 1.45 minute flight they also fed us, and what we would think is risky, they served fish.

I think that it's a good idea to arrive very late, you avoid traffic jams (notorious for traffic issues) and bad taxi drivers. Instead of the expect 1 hour into Bangkok it took about 35-40 minutes and cost about $8. The hotel I am staying is very comfortable for about $55 a night, you can go cheaper but I'm not into hostals with all the other backpackers. The staff always greets you the traditional Thai way and is very helpfull with everything that I need.

First full day I spent traveling by Skytrain to the weekend market. It was amazing how big this thing is, it's like a huge swap-meet with everything that you can think of but mainly Thai made products and most things you can barter for and get close to your price. My view on bartering is to offer what you are willing to pay for the merchandise, I heard people offering to pay partically nothing which I think is offensive. I feel the the two bronze w/Silver overlay was pretty reasonable compared to what I would have paid for it in the states. The two leather belts for Larry was so impossiblly inexpensive. I really enjoyed bartering with the frame of mind that I had, lot less stressfull, just keep a calculator with you at all times.

I returned to rest in the afternoon to get out of the sweltering heat and headed back out again in the evening. I had dinner at the Seafood Market, Anthony Bourdain visited this same spot. You go in, someone helps you select your fresh seafood and veggies. Cost is by the pound, once that is paid for you are then are asked how you would like in prepared, I told the host to do whatever sounded good. Then it was served fresh, you pay for the cost of cooking. My most expensive meal on this trip costing $46. You should have seen the prawns HUGE, I've never seen anything so big! Pictures of the place will follow. I had prawns, scallop and squid, had some for breakfast as well.

Then I headed on the Skytrain to go to the evening market and discovered a wonderful traditional Thai performance while waiting for the train transfer. One of the malls (tons here, which I did not go to any) had an open air space where food vendors sold very strange things and a musical performance was done free of charge.

The night market was actually very amusing, this is where you can buy all the fake goods you could possibly want. It was more interesting to see how many name brand logos. The men gravitated towards the watches while the women went for the designer purses and wallets.

There are some similarties between Thailand and Vietnam, both countries are hot, lots of shopping can be done. The only difference is that Thailand's merchandise is better kept for sale and the quality is much better, even in the fake products. Bangkok is cleaner (not to US standards), people are not as rude, no picking of the nose which is the national past time in HCMC. I would say that Vietnam had better food for much cheaper then Thailand. There is a lot more meat available in Thailand, the amount of meat available by street vendors is amazing. You really didn't see the same amount displayed in Vietnam.

I really like Bangkok...more on my day today at the Grand Palace and Wat Po. It's my last night and I have a 3 hour spa treatment waiting for me...$70, which includes traditional Thai massage...no honey not a steam and cream 😊

I like Bangkok, more on my travels, tomorrow night I will be in Honolulu.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb