My Two Cents & Kudos to Casanova


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 5th 2005
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our Last LunchOur Last LunchOur Last Lunch

The "bulk" of our group at our final lunch together in Ranong at the close of our trip.
First, the kudos. Warren (aka Casanova) has developed a website for our little group/band!! It's up and running for the most part, complete with pictures, a copy of the full-mix version of "Sunset in Ranong", and I'm sure there will be more added as time marches on. Anyway, if you want to check it out, the URL is (appropriately) plumpishthai.com. This really is beyond cool - Warren, you are my hero! Now if only we could convince you to don leotards and a cape...

Now, on the last bit re: my two cents...

The following is an email I sent out to the second group that was set to go on with Diane & Ray on the next Thailand/Burma trip, many of whom were nervous about it as we had been...

---------------------------

I just wanted to send a quick note to you guys as well as those who are currently signed up for the next Thailand trip. After talking to Diane and Ray yesterday in Ranong, I thought it might not be a bad idea to send a few words out to report on the situation as I saw it from this first trip which we just
The Last SupperThe Last SupperThe Last Supper

The final group dinner before we all retired to the pool area and then Steve, Jim, & Shauna took off early the next morning.
finished. In fact, I'm not even home yet, but sitting in the airport on a layover waiting for my flight back to New York.

I have to say that this was by far and away the most fabulous trip I think I have ever been on - I've never been so sad at the thought of going home from a vacation before. On top of which, the ramifications of the tsunami have really been minimal in terms of how it affected us and our travel... The only thing I would say is that we were all spoiled by how uncrowded everything was. This made me (and I'm sure the rest of the group) sad in many ways because the Thais that are working so hard to get back to 'business as usual' are really suffering by the lack of tourists that usually crowd these areas. As a New Yorker and understanding the necessity of getting things back on track after a tragedy, I really felt for the people of Thailand... I was glad to know that being there and spending my tourist dollars was at least one way I could contribute.

As for anyone concerned with sickness, etc.,
Where there's a pole...Where there's a pole...Where there's a pole...

I don't really know what the deal was with this picture, but the pole was literally set in the middle of the bench we were sitting on and, well, you what they say - where there's a pole...
I'd say you're far more in danger of catching the flu at home than of having any issues in Thailand... Naturally I haven't seen the news in a few weeks as we've all been preoccupied with kayaking, diving, and enjoying the sun, but from my now-firsthand experience I can tell you I never once was worried about disease or anything else of that nature.

If anyone would like to ask any questions, I'd love to answer them and perhaps calm any fears that there might be... My guess is that you may be hearing from some of the other people on my trip as well when they get home and back to 'real life'.

Anyhow, that's my two cents... I hope people find it somewhat helpful and encouraging. And to Diane, Ray, and the rest of Plumpish Thai, I just want to say thanks again... I really don't think there could have been a better way to spend the last couple of weeks! You guys are the best.

Cheers,
deb 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb