bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 4th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey all, I’m alive and well. Although had one of the worst possible trips over to Thailand though. At first I didn’t mind too much, it started at the airport in Sydney...
I went to check in, after my sister Aimee, who dropped me off, had left. I found out the flight I was meant to be on was cancelled due to bad weather in England, leading to the planes not able to take off... just an excuse to take a day off if you ask me! I was lucky enough to already booked onto a fight that day.....3 hours later! 3 hours doesn’t sound like long, but it drags on when you are sitting in the airport for 6 hours before your flight. Ohh and rather then getting into Bangkok airport at 11:45pm, leaving me plenty of time to get a hotel room for a reasonable price... I was expecting around 350B (AU$14). I got in at around 230am, I went to almost every place I could find...and they were all booked out. The ones that weren’t booked out tried to rip me off, I couldn’t believe it 750 - 900B (AU$30 - $36) I know what your thinking, RIP OFF!!!
Maybe at 2.30 in the morning the best option would have being to just take the room for one night, but at one stage I was seriously considering staying up all night….leaving my bags at a hotel for a cheap price, and just walking around talking to people. You have to remember, by this stage, I had being walking around with a very heavy bag for quite some time, I was sweating like a pig, I was struggling to breath in the Bangkok humidity, I had bad knees, I hadn’t slept on the plane at all, all this led me to be quite delusional, although some would argue I may make some irrational decisions at times…
Before it got to this extent, I needed to clear my head and have a coke, where I met some people. An Aussie we like to call him Dan, I forget his real name, and a Yank we like to call her Shoshana, mainly because that’s her name… After talking to them for quite some time, I was able to get a room near them. Lucky someone didn’t show up because of that cancelled flight!
So now I have my train ticket sorted, am about to get a sim card, and showing some people iv met some of the sights of Bangkok, (thanks Kris, im just re-tracking our steps! Haha)
Ill keep everyone updated, and let you know my mobile number asap.



Advertisement



12th February 2009

Same, same
In spite of the setbacks, things seem to have ended up pretty well for you. Just chalk the rest up to experience (and the McDonall Jonah factor)! Glad to hear you're okay. Are you in the Krabi area now? Taken any pic's? Speak soon. Your ever-lovin' oldies.

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.8kb