I'm leaving on a jet plane


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 4th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's hard to imagine that 3 months ago I was arriving in Bangkok, absolutely scared to death of the journey I was about to embark on. I was scared to get pick pocketed or to lose my passport, to cross the extremely busy streets, to get sick, or to offend anyone. Luckily, the only thing that happened on that list is that I got really sick. I am happy to say that I didn't lose anything and nothing was stolen from me, and I didn't get ripped off any substantial amounts of money.

I haven't loved every minute of my trip. I have had to stop myself from ranting on this blog from time to time about how frustrated I was about this or that. I have had to stop myself from going to an airport and jumping on the next flight home. There have also been times where I have loved it. Meeting people from all walks of life. Watching the sunset on the Mekong river. Exploring the temples of Angkor Wat. In the end, these are the things I will remember.

If nothing else, this trip has taught me patience, and has made me grateful for the life I have. I am proud to be Canadian and have come to see how much respect people from across the world have for Canadians. Every country has their problems because no system is perfect, but I have to say that Canada is a pretty amazing place to live. The opportunities that I have just by being from Canada are mind blowing in comparison to the countries I have visited. I have had to be patient in so many respects, from language barrier, food service, and just dealing with people day to day. Not to mention not screaming at annoying children across the world 😉

I can't wait to come home and drink water from the tap. Have a bubble bath. Eat a steak. Wear a different outfit! Sleep in my own bed in clean sheets. The simple joys of life 😊



Advertisement



4th February 2009

That is a pretty high level of insight for someone so young. It's too bad more people can't be more appreciative of what we have. Next time I'm whining about the lack of snow clearing in Montreal, I'll think of this. xo
13th February 2009

Hey Kate, I wasn't able to read every single post on here - - I'll make a pot of tea and read the ones I've missed sometime soon I hope - - but I've appreciated what I have read. Thanks for sharing glimpses into your trip! Like Amelia said, your final post shows immense insight. I love the steak was on your list of things to look forward to - yay Alberta! *hug* Hope you're well, Julie

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb