The Magic


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 20th 2008
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The magic of Africa is found by moving your body fast and furious, to the beat of drums, but the magic of Thailand is found by moving your body very slowly or not at all, to the beat of your heart.

Both give you the sensation of a spiritual peace and mysticism, they get deep down into your soul, yet in two very different ways. I can't say I prefer one to the other, I enjoy both equally.
The drums of Africa get deep into your soul, almost as if something is taking you over. There is nothing like that. I have yet to really explore the spirituality of Thailand, but I am looking forward to figuring it out.

So, today was my first day exploring Bangkok. Great day, I'd have to say. I figured out the public transport system, which I don't need to be excited about because there's only two subway lines, and it's much easier than getting around NYC, but anyway, it's in a foreign country, so I guess I should be proud (and you should be proud of me too).
I missioned to go see the Jim Thompson house, Jim Thompson was a studied architect from America and moved to Thailand in the 40's during the war, he worked for the CIA or something. He started exporting beautiful silks around the world and built this amazing house in Bangkok with an awesome garden and, well, it's just really cool. So, it's a tourist attraction, and I found my way to it and it was pretty cool.
I was starving by the time I got done with the tour so I headed to try some street food. I had no idea, there are just people selling food from carts all over the place. I just went up to some women and stood there and they kind of got the idea that I wanted some food, they (and I) were a bit confused, but she just picked things up and either got a nod or a shake of the head from me and if I nodded it went into the pot. She put ONE chili pepper thing into my meal (the girl next to me got like 10) and I was literally crying it was so spicy. Three months of eating maize (corn) meal porridge, rice, and veggies without spices really puts your taste buds out of condition. So, although it probably wasn't that spicy, my taste buds are quite out of practice, so I guess that's a nice welcome!

Well, that's about it for now.
this weekend we are going to an Elephant round up, or something like that. Should be fun.
Then Jordan arrives! YEA!

OK, Cheers

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb