Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 27th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

After India, well, it is a very big change: very clean, very easy to get along, AC bus, America! Much more west then east. No atmosphere as in India, I really miss the cows, the monkeys, I even miss the harrestment of the men. Here, the Thai men don't care about me, they don't stare at me, I am insulted. It is much more expensive than in India, maybe double but still cheap comparing to Israel. The English of the simple people is much worse then in India. And taxi drivers: they never have change, just like in India.
I am still not used to the fact that toilet paper here is free so I have the habbit of collecting it. It is the only item that was so expensive in India.
And Bangkok, wow, it is a huge city! I had a very smooth landing. I landed very early, at around 5AM.
At 7Am, I was already waiting at the lobby of the Royal Orchid Sheraton to the L family to wake up. D.L is the brother of B, my borther in law and also is a captain in El-Al so he is a very frequent flyer.
Wow, what an hotel! D's hotels are getting better and better, the last one that I have visited was in Jeneva but this one is the best so far.
So I have had a great buffe breakfast and afterwards a real hot shower (not bucket) in their room, maybe my first real hot shower after 6 weeks. So that was a very good start in Thailand.
After that I went to the Vietnam embassy to apply for the visa, then to Turkish airlines to change my ticket.
Afterwards, I had a really bad incident: I opened the taxi door, did not look backwards and a scooter driver just hit the door and fell down. He had a real pain in his foot and hand and I felt really bad. With a help of a translator, I eventually paid him 1,000 Bahts to help him and clean my conscience as well. I hope that this accident won't hurt too much the import industry of Thai forgien workers to Israel.
After all those arrangments (and one incident) I went straight to Ko Chang, about 6 hours from Bangkok. I picked this island because it is relatively close to Bangkok. All the famous islands: Samoy, Pangan, Pipi, etc are on the south, quite far away, that is the reason that I did not go there and anyway it is my first time to Thialand so I don't really care where to go. It is a nice island, I am doing nothing, just relaxing, reading a book, talk to people, eating and of course swimming. I thought that because this island os not one of the famous one, there won't too many people, but apprantely, there are quite a few, probably becuase it is Christmas now. Several places were fully booked. But I found a hut for 200 Baht (5$) without attached shower.
Spending a wonoderfull time in Ko Chang so far, I start to understand why so many people travel to Thailand and keep returning to it: it is so beutiful, so easy to get along, relaxing, good food, and, of course, cheap.

Bye, Sharon

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb