Where Have I Been?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 13th 2005
Published: December 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I am thinking about trying again to maintain a travel journal. No promises here, but I'm going to give it a shot. I have basically been travelling in Thailand and Laos since September. Before that I was working and volunteering in Bangkok (about June-September) I spent May in China and Feb-April I was on the Border with Burma. Right now, I am preparing to leave Thailand and am making plans to head to India, maybe by February and stay there for about 6 months. I have one month in China, which I am planning to use to travel and to try to figure out the best way to get to India from China. The borders between India and China are closed for land crossing, so it will require passing through other bordering countries, or of course flying. Bangkok is much nicer in "winter" and now is decorated for the holiday season complete with 30ft Visa card Christmas trees. Because 95% of Thais are Buddhist there is little misunderstanding about the true meaning of Christmas here - shopping. There are certainly things I will miss about Thailand, the food, the ladyboys at Big C, the good public transportation infrastructure, movie theaters with English subtitles, and of course friends. Overall, I am ready to leave and see what other regions of Asia have to offer. I'll try to backblog a little. We'll see.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb