i've seen the future, and the future is....overpriced


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I just spent 200 bhat (about 6 bucks) for 40 minutes of internet time, so you folks better be enriched.

Even before we came up to the terminal, there is a sense of this place being a mini- UN. There were airplanes outside from El Al, Turkish Airways, British Airways, Oman Airways, Indian Airlines and many others I couldin't see. There are signs everywhere of "Long live the King" and celebrations of Thailand's Buddhist heritage.

The airport I get to spend about 7 hours in was built in 2006 and it very futuristic. There are multiple shops and currency exchanges everywhere (unfortunately, can't get any Indian rupees). Right across from a specifically designated Muslim prayer room is a duty free store selling untaxed, bottled sin. There are also smoking rooms full of surly looking, multi-ethnic/national bussinessmen.

And speaking of the people.

There are :

East Asians
South Asians
White folk
a few Africans
Middle Easterners
Indeterminables

Businessmen
Touriststs
Young
Old
the Saavy
the Confused
Angry looking Turk (?) with his wife
A group of 6 caucasian tourists younger than I looking bored and sitting on the ground
A young man having a conversation in Arabic on a headset while wearing a psychedelic Jimmi T shirt
Two amused Germans in suits in a hurry
No-nonsense Thai security men (and a woman) keeping a stern and watchful eye on things.
An angry looking Pakistani (?) and his veiled wife
A VERY angry looking American (?) and wife wife/girlfriend looking at everyone walk by from a restauarant. I got vibes that he used to be in the military.

While walking around the upper level, I kept humming the Mos Esley (Devin don't care correct my spelling) theme from Star Wars and suppressing a smirk.
Although I suppose I am one with the crowd.
Even though it costs about 200 bhat, I think I will have to break down in a couple of hours and buy some pad thai in thailand. Nothing here is cheap, but I suppose that is not suprising given that Saudis flush with oil windfal profts might eat at the same place as me.

More thoughts about Taiwan and Thailand whenever I get the chance to communicate for cheaper.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb