I was just bitten by a dog and its only 6:20 am....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 23rd 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well well, where to begin with all the amazing happenings in the last 3 weeks or so, I'll begin where I left off; heading to Koh Tao. So pretty much immediately after getting on the bus into my life comes Mr. Erik Wessels from Germany, also a solo traveller heading to the same place to meet some friends he met in northern Thailand, we start talking and get along great so he invites me to go with him. So I do. We stayed at a cool little diving hotel right on the ocean, Also met his friends Charlie and Caitlyn from Alaska and California. They had all signed up to a diving course and I signed up for 6 scuba dives since i was already certified...

So basically for the first day I did 2 dives in the morning and on the second day I did 2 inthe morning 2 in the afternoon and was on the boat with the people taking the class. I'm pretty sure the funnest part of scuba diving is jumping off the roof of the dive boat by the way... The diving was fun, I'd say Fiji was better though.

At nights we would go to these cool little restaurant/bars overlooking the ocean and sit on the floor on these comfy little cuhsions and eat supper and have drinks. Thai food is sooooooo good, and soooooo cheap. You can have a great dinner and drinks for around 6-7$ You can eat a street vendor for 1-3$ and their food is great as well.We need street pancakes!!! The fresh fruit shakes here are the best. Indian food is also quite good. I will be branching out more when I get home.

A couple of nights we went to the main beach to a few beach bars where you also sit on big poofy cushions. One night they had the most amazing firedancers I have ever seen, these guys were tossing blazing balls of fire to each other from 25 feet away catching it behind their back while standing in between 4 tables full of people. stunning!

Sadly on this island Charlie and Caitlyn were broken into while they were sleeping and had their wallets/cameras/Ipods stolen, I felt totally bad for them as neither of them had any bank or credit cards but they got it all figured out, I guess there could of been worse outcomes...

Spent 4 or 5 nights there and then Erik and I travelled to the island of Koh Samui where we played alot of ocean frisbee, rented scooters for 5$ a day X 3 days with no incidences (story later to come) because we were kinda far from the main part and its way cheaper than a taxi. Scooters are actually pretty fun but the road hazards and things you need to watch out for are redicolous. Also you think you have seen it all when it comes to how much people and stuff the Thais can get onto 1 scooter when you see a family of 4 with groceries but they can pretty much build a multi level restaurant with seating for 10 on the tops of these things.

One night on Samui Erik and I went out and ventured down this street full of bars, well they were kinda bars, they were more like a bar where you sit down and a special Thai lady tells you "I go with you!!" and your like no thanks I'm just here for the free pool, The Thai ladys were quite good at pool though. Also I wasnt sure if it was funny or sad to watch all these creepy dirty old men be loving their lives in a place like this and walking away with their new girlfriend for a day in hand. So many guys would walk around with their lady during the day holding hands, I just told Erik that it was true love and that it was beautiful. There's also alot of ladyboys (boys that dress like girls) and its really hard to tell whos who sometimes cuz some of them at first glance are quite pretty, but its definetly funny when some dude is getting hit on by a ladyboy and has no idea its a dude, you HAVE to laugh at that.

After Samui which was one of my least favourite places I headed with Erik to Krabi. We did a day trip to Railay there which was so amazing. Huge limestone cliffs surrounded this place that you could only get to by longtail boat. We walked over to the beach which was surrounded by these massive rocks and you could swim underneath this crazy overhang. We also met these 2 english girls, played some frisbee and they showed us this part where you could jump off the rocks into the water, about a 6 m jump, so fun.

In the afternoon we went rock climbing which was my first time outdoors and it was so great, such a good workout and fun challenge. I climbed the hardest route on the rock we were at so I won a beer from Erik. Sorry mom cliff jumping and rock climbing is alot more fun than bird watching.

Next Erik and I were off to Phuket for the annual Thai new years festival which is basically the worlds biggest waterfight for 2 days. This was so amazing, the pictures and videos dont quite do it justice. For 2 days everyone just goes into the street armed with some kind of water dispensing device and soaks absolutely EVERYONE, the Thai people had buckets and hoses so you could refill your watergun and all you would do is walkaround and spray people, I have never felt an 8 year so much as this moment, it was a big kids dream. The best people to spray were the people cowering in phonebooths, and classy looking tourists who wanted nothing to do with this day, one lady actually punched me which was stupid, are you mad at me or the holiday lady??? get real. But it was great, it was mostly Thai people and they liked to drive around in trucks withgarbage cans full of water and launch pails of water at people. Also people on scooters had guns and were fair game. We also soaked security guards and cops, it was great. Girls would also walk by and smear white powder all over your face for what reason I do not know, but what I do know is that we should have this holiday back home.

After 2 weeks with Erik he was off to Malaysia and I was headed to Koh Pha Ngan for the full moon party which is the worlds biggest beach party with 10,000-30,000 of your closest friends. Made some awesome friends 4-5 days before the big party so it was good to hang out with them. Also randomly ran into 2 of the guys that are in some of my Bangkok pictures that were on the same flights with us from aussie to brunei to thailand and they had space in their room so i crashed with them. We actually had 3 people sleeping sideways on a double bed... They jacked up the price close to full moon so it was good. There was a massive pool party 2 days before full moon where there must ofbeen 100 people in the pool at one time, it was crazy, apparently there were people making babies in it but i did not witness this, also I was told they were fishing condoms out of the pool equipment the next day but that could also be a rumour. The next day the pool was a nice greenish brown and had a jello like skin on it, beauitful!!

Ok here is the bike story, shittiest thing to happen to me so far on this trip, so me and 4 friends rent scooters, i got asmall dirtbike thinking it would have better grip on the shit roads here. So off we go to find this waterfall, and if I would of known this road was going to be as scary as it was I never would of went. This road was loose shale at best ( a gravel road would been a dream) and anyways my friend in frontof me wipes out and im quite a ways behind so I let off the gas and start to brake and I hit the same patch and wipe out messing up my bike pretty good, and to add insult to injury as I fell my 100$ sunglasses fell off my head and landed underneath my foot. shit. I was ok, thought my ankle was broken but its good to go now. So I take the bike back not expecting good things, they look it over and show me a calculator, 17,000 baht or 550$ ish. shit. I've had better days.... But there is worse things that could happen, I met one girl who had her entire bag stolen in aussie, Also my friend Renee has her camera stolen at the full moon with tons of pictures on it so it could be worse.

So that night was full moon so we bought a bunch of bright neon paint and painted each other up with crazy designs and then drank alot of booze out of beach buckets and went to this massive beach party which wasnt really my scene but it was a sight to be seen, people dancing on stages, huge speaker set ups outside 10 different bars, huge lights, firedancers, huge signs made out of fire, fireworks, and 10,000 people dancing the night away. We got there at midnight and tere was already people passed out on the beach. Thats just sad, and scary. It was an awesomen night, but once in my life is probably enough.

So I just got off a night bus and I'm backin Bangkok, I was looking fora guest house this morning when this litle dog started following me, a regular occurence in thiscountry, then the little bastard bit my leg and started barking at me, if i would of had shoes on that dog would of had a bad headache.... It was only 620 am so I let it go...

I hope I dont get rabies and go crazy...
There is ALOT of 7-11's here, like 20X more than in Regina.
Thai people are really nice.
Thailand is so hot and beautiful.
I will totally come back here.
Saying goodbye to people is sad....

Well back to Brunei for a night tomorow with the girls and then back to aussie where I need to get a job ASAP.

Thats all for know, I feel like I missed some things but Ill add them later if I remember.

Brando








Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb