The Hobo Has Landed


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 10th 2008
Published: April 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post



So after 8 months of talking about going traveling I'm finally in another country and what a country it is, but before i tell you about my first day here, let me tell you about the ride from London to here.

In the early hours of Tuesday morning Omar drove me to Terminal 3 at Heathrow. Check In was quick and painless but that meant i had about 2 and half hours of waiting time, which is always shit when your traveling on your own. Luckily when i got into the departure lounge I randomly met a mate i hadn't seen in almost 4 years, he was going to Thailand for a couple of weeks with a mate. Anyway, we did some catching up and then all got on the Qatar airlines plane which, by the way, has to be one of best i have been on. I conked out straight after i ate and woke up with 45 mins to go before landing in Doha airport in Qatar. Only thing that bugged me was the fucking screaming baby, why can't stupid dickhead parents realise that when you take a small child onto a plane, that the poor little cunt s gonna go through some serious pain because of the change in pressure.

Now Doha Airport looks like a scene out of Mad Max in the Thunderdome, the place is just big, flat and sandy. It's also right by the sea, so in about 10 to 20 years, it'll be under 6ft of water. It may be an oil rich state but i guess all that money couldn't buy them any common sense. They did have free internet though.

Anyway, 4 hours there passed and I got back on the plane and off we flew to Thailand. Once again there was great food (which I had 2 portions of) and the flight was quick and painless. Before i new it I was landing in Bangkok, which has an amazing airport and stepping out at 7.30am into a silly amount of heat for such an early time in the morning. So I get off and go to the passport desk where they took my photo and gave me a scare by saying i couldn't go through unless i had an address in Thailand where i was going. Now this i didn't have so slightly shit myself but then remembered that i took the address of the hotel that my friend was staying at, so blagged it and gave them that address. I then picked up my bag and strolled out to find me old mucker MJ or as he like to call himself now 'EMJAY'.

Right i have to go buy a sarong now so i am going, but i'll write about my first day a little later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb