Bangkok Part III


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 5th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The journey back into Bangkok was actually ok despite a few mishaps - I knew it would never run smoothly!! We got a boat from Koh Tao to Chumpron and then got in queue for the overnight bus and the 3 of us along with an English couple and a Turkish girl were pulled out of the queue and directed to a tuk tuk and told that we were being taken to the other bus. As we were walking towards the tuk tuk I decided I didn't trust them, which turned out to be right, and we then found out that there wasn't in fact another bus, they had overbooked the first bus and were taking us to the bus station to get a local bus!!! So the 6 of us are sitting in this tuk tuk shouting at the driver and he's just giggling! Eventually we decided that we weren't getting anywhere and, after a local man had informed us that the local buses are just as good as the VIP buses that we were booked on, we headed off but not before demanding the driver give us 500 baht to get a taxi at the other end to Khao San Road (where the VIP bus would have taken us). Once at the station we had to wait over 2 hours for the bus - gggrrrrrr. Once on though, all was fine and it was quite a relaxing journey.

We had one full day in Bangkok before our next flight so we did a bit of shopping, had lunch and wandered around and then went out in the evening for our last Khao San Road experience :o(. We went out for dinner first which was gross. I had noodle soup with vegetables and it tasted like dishwater! We then headed for Shamrock Bar where I got challenged to a game of pool by an Israeli chav. I love it when boys challenge girls at pool thinking that none of them can play - I cleared the table and left him with 5 balls whilst I was on the black and I beat him!! He wasn't too happy!!!! I then proceeded to get stalked by a Norwegian boy who, once he found out I was from London, kept chanting "you want a cup of tea" in his best common accent! Such a turn on!

After getting drunk on Spy Wine, Suz and I decided it was time to eat bugs! We headed out onto the street and found the stall with the bugs and I managed to find it in me to eat a grasshopper and a bamboo worm - eeeuuuwwww! Deaks only managed the worm. I actually thought the grasshopper was nicer! I'm a Celebrity here I come!

We tried a few more bars after that but Shamrock was the best so we headed back there but only stayed for 1 more as Norwegian boy was getting a bit too friendly for my liking much to the girls' amusement!

We checked out at midday the next day and got a taxi to the airport - my last bartering opportunity :o(. I wasn't too keen on Bangkok the first time we arrived here but after 3 visits now I really like it and it feels like we've come home and it'll be weird not coming back again. Very sad to be leaving Thailand but the trip must go on!

Next stop Hong Kong.

xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb