Chiang Mai back to Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 31st 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The last couple of days were spent exploring old Chiang Mai, the temples and night bazaar and checking out the night life with the Trek posse of Abi, Bianca, Tom, Tim, Olly and Stevie from too much Saki at a Japanese restaurant, buckets of booze at the Reggae Rooftop bar to listening to some awesome cover bands at the Riverside Bar that had amazing views on the river surrounding Chiang Mai.

One of the nights we went to a Mauy Thai fight that was pretty disappointing since the average age of the fighters were around 14 including one fight with 10 year olds which was just a little disturbing to watch considering they usually end in a knock out. But I was able to find out what the best Mauy Thai gym in Chiang Mai was and I struck a deal with the Tuk Tuk driver that took us to the fight to take me out there the next day for another Mauy Thai lesson. Now this camp was about 45 minutes outside of the city in the middle of no where but the drive was well worth it and the instructors were amazing since they had taught the last Mauy Thai champion in Thailand. Plus because this place is so remote and true style they offer month long training and accommodation for 6000 bhat (about $200/month) After 2 grueling hours I quickly learned that after the years of Kung Fu I wouldn't stand 1 round with a real Mauy Thai fighter. My kicks and punches were dead on but my balance was completely off since the entire art of Mauy Thai is performed on your toes which at first seemed strange but was quickly demonstrated how effective it is.

On the way back from the Mauy Thai camp the Tuk Tuk driver took me to a real local market and I couldn't believe the difference between the people there and the Thai's I've met in the cities I've been too. The real local Thai (which barely speak any English) were so warm and welcoming and introduced me to new local drinks that were awesome. Plus it was beyond cheap...I mean everything so far in Thailand is dirt cheap compared to back home but in the remote areas it's simply pennies.

Well after spending almost 3.5 weeks in Thailand I truly understand the t-shirts that have "Same Same" on them...everything is the same, no matter what city, island, village etc...plus I was getting really tired of everyone trying to rip off us "farangs." At first I felt bad about negotiating the Travel agent down after finding out that he was a monk before moving into the city...but when I found out that the Guest House I was staying in was only 600 bhat a night (as apposed to paying the agent 900 bhat), I didn't feel so bad and that they had simple fan rooms for 400 bhat (which I moved into since I can't stand air-con anymore after fully adjusting to the heat). So needless to say, Thailand has been awesome but time to move on and begin the real journey into Cambodia, Vietnam and Lao.

So I jumped onto the night train from Chiang Mai to Bangkok, got me a top bunk in the second class car and arrived in Bangkok at 6:40 am. I just checked into the same place I was staying just off of Khao San Road, had breakfast, and just spent the last 3 hours uploading pictures for you guys so I hope you appreciate them! 😊

Ok, I'm off to go get lost in the city.

Next stop...Cambodia!!!








Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



2nd April 2008

OMG That shot of the toilet is killer!!! lol
3rd April 2008

We do appreciate all the pictures and stories. Making us jealous!! Glad your having such a great time.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb