My Answered Prayer


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 27th 2008
Published: March 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to the last of my Bangkok blogs, and also the last of the ultra-cheap internet I will find on my trip! Perth should be ok, but after that the Blogs will become a lot less frequent i reckon, though hopefully not too much!

So today was my last day in Bangkok, and it was another hot one! Had a reasonable sleep, though woke a few times, and got up about half 9; it's soo nice waking up to the sun shining in! Had a quick bite to eat, and then headed out towards the golden mount. Today i went for flip flops to air my feet a bit, bad move, more on that in a bit! Was a reasonable walk to the Golden mount, where i went into a really cool temple, different from the rest, and was a bit of a maze! Then hit Wat Suket and the golden mount. I think it was about 300steps up to the top, but it was well worth it with a cool 360 view of the city.

Having taken some photos and climbed back down, I headed towards Dustin Palace Park, another fair walk. I walked in the first entrance only to be stopped by a guy with a gun (a soldier, not a random bloke!) who just about explained to me in english that I had to walk all the way around to get in, yoink! Having done that, i got in, and for free as my grand palace ticket included it, jackpot! Typically, first day i dont have closed shoes, i have to have them to get into the throne hall, so could only see from the outside, however it didnt stop me going on a 45min tour of the something mansion...sorry cannot remember!

It was amazing! massive place built out of teek wood, and it was really nice. Built like 100years ago or something by the King at the time, bet that would of made a good grand designs! It was about two after the tour so decided to get a drink and head back, and this is where my title of the blog comes from! Decided to just wing it as i had a general idea of where i was going...except i left from a different exit! Before I knew it, i had been walking half an hour, was lost in the middle of alleys upon alleys of houses, no drink left and i was lost. Just as i though things couldnt be worse, a blister under my foot popped...ouch! Was not in the mood!

But, after a quick ask, a Tuk Tuk comes out of nowhere and believe me, i was on before he had stopped! First experience on a tuk tuk as well, and clearly health and safety has no place in bangkok. Any accident, well i would probably be dead. However...it was a lot of fun! And it turned out i had got myself even further away than i had thought!

Having got back, i grabbed a drink and a ticket to use the pool again, where i stayed for about 3hours. There were some really cute kids playing in the pool and they were very amusing! Whilst there, some well random tunes came on including Ronan, Leona, and FIVE, oh yeah! Headed out for tea after the pool and enjoyed some very nice, but filling thai style noodles with shrimp, not too shabby! argh timer is running out! Right, so had a wonder around the shops and bought an etnies top for lik 3quid as i think i need one more t-shirt...plus 3quid! Then came here, and not got to go! The next blog will be at the weekend, from Perth, ASUTRALIA! Woop. I hope they have a breeze!

Bye for now! x


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb