Last Day in Paradise, One Night In Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 9th 2008
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 17: Last day in Krabi

We had no schedule today and since our flight was not until 6:00, we slept in a bit. I got up early and sat out on the balcony for a bit before getting dressed to head down to breakfast. After breakfast, we went down to the pool. I just sat, read my book and listened to music while the others went in the pool. We then headed back to the room to pack up and check out. The hotel stored our things until we were ready to leave. We ended up having lunch at the hotel outside by the pool which of course included another fun fruity drink : )

After lunch, Bari and Rachel went to the spa at the hotel for a Thai massage, Dennis went to read and I headed out to walk along the beach and check out the little shops on the way. I didn't really want a massage because (prepare for the shock), I really don't like them that much! As if you didn't think I was odd enough....

Anyhow, it was nice and relaxing to walk along the beach. I then headed back onto the road where there were some small shops and restaurants I passed. I walked for a little while until I just got too hot and turned around to head back. On my way back, I noticed a small, typical Thai massage place. As I walked by it, I remembered the pages that I copied and brought with me from my '1000 places to see before you die' book with things to see/do in Thailand. One of them of course, was to experience a Thai massage. For some reason, without thinking any further, I walked in and asked the price for a 30 minute massage. It was interesting to say the least, I think I laughed more than anything (hence why me and massages don't go together). I'm sure that to normal people, the massage was relaxing but for me, I just kept thinking about what she was going to do next! At one point she stood up and I thought she was going to step on me and I yelped, haha. Turns out they do massaging of the leg with their foot as well....phew! Anyhow, I'm glad that I walked into the massage place without thought and experienced a Thai massage.

I walked back to the hotel to join the others, freshened up and then we were off to Bangkok. Odd as this may sound, I actually didn't tell anyone about the Thai massage I had.....until just now.

Back in Bangkok, Rachel and I made a pitstop at Bari's to collect the souvenirs we left there and then headed to the Conrad. The Conrad in Bangkok was gorgeous! We had a room on the 29th floor (Executive floor...status baby, yeah!) which provided a great view of Bangkok. We noticed everyone was dressed so nicely in the lobby when we checked in. We decided we would get into some nice clothes and check out the hotel bar. That lasted all of 5 minutes when we realized how smoky it was! Instead, we ended up taking a quick 5 minute walk down the street to 7-11 to pick up a few things. So essetially, our last night in Bangkok was spent getting dressed up to go to 7-11, haha!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb