Bangkok Surprise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 26th 2007
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

First NightFirst NightFirst Night

The hostel I found myself in was not spectacular but I discovered the roof with a fabulous lounge area that doubled as a great sleep when I found myself in back in Bangkok without a place to stay at 4am before my flight out!!!
(Just revisiting my old blog and realized that I had never published this chapter!! I had found the old photos and uploaded them and thought I would just publish it as it is here and done.... most of the memories are captured in the photo stories although I have to admit that this was a week spent doing a whole lot of nothing and just relaxing really.... not really part of my trip so to speak, but rather a vacation from my trip. Sweet none the less!)

Well everybody, what can I say? I have been keeping you all in the dark! for a very long time as well. And it is not for lack of photos, or places or people. Its been for a lack of toes. Yes, I said toes. Why toes you ask? Well because my toes do the talking!

Now where am I going here. I am in Thailand, a pleasant little surprise. An unplanned stop in this meticulously planned out trip. Let me explain, I had my fortune read before I left, a very kindly layed out month by month tale of what was to come on this trip. It has been quite fun
River Taxi...River Taxi...River Taxi...

Giving my feet a rest (I got really lost trying to walk) I forked out for a ride on a boat. I guess that is what tourists are supposed to do.
to read as I go along, not letting myself get to wrapped up in what it said would happen then letting my self relax a little after things did happen. And so, when I started to work after being broke and supported by my dear friend who I came to stay with in New Zealand (Yes, thats right, I have been in New Zealand for the last two months!) and realized that I was starting to rebuild my savings, my sweet little fortune (ha, both in the bank and the telling ones written out for me) let me buy a round trip ticket to Bangkok! And so here I am, having made a small fortune and lost it all before it became any more than a twinkle of toes. (No, I am not smoking anything funny here, although the shopping drove me a bit mad. I am serious about toes!)

So I have a little treat for you all... Just when I thought I wouldn't get any more up on this damn site I am here to please you with a little Bang, no cock but a lot of coconuts and bananas I hope, some Singha beer and some
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Little did I know the fate that awaited me at this tourist site!
beach. And I do hope you enjoy this little Bangkok surprise, because lord know my dirty toes are very happy indeed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My fate!My fate!
My fate!

Oh to conquer my fear of heights... I reminisced back to the time when on a family trip to the Grand Canyon (I dont think we even looked over the edge so no it isnt about the canyon...) mummy and I encountered a boulder which we had to climb on our hike. Sitting defeated at the bottom we were both quickly shamed by the family, complete with youngsters and granny, came charging down the boulder! Shameful!
The top!The top!
The top!

Trying not to be sick and fall over.
Oh dear lord!Oh dear lord!
Oh dear lord!

I have to go down now? Where is the elevator?? No one would ever believe that I have been sky diving before... but I made it, plams sweating as I gripped the railing, a pitiful safety guard. Really they need harnesses for this thing!
Safety cont.Safety cont.
Safety cont.

Ok, now it gets more clear to me.... tiny steep steps and bamboo scaffolding! I am not one of these tiny asian women people! Tourist safety should really be reviewed ;)
Little WarriorsLittle Warriors
Little Warriors

However, I do now feel as strong as these little warriors!
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

And about as hungry as these big ones!
Sweet DigsSweet Digs
Sweet Digs

My friend Zach, and prompt for my choice of Thailand, is happily residing here... lucky dog!
Zach and IZach and I
Zach and I

Yes mum, I road a motorcycle without a helmet. But it really was the best way to explore the coast of Chumpon, Thailand!
Cabana SwimmingCabana Swimming
Cabana Swimming

Not a sole in sight and I could just meander through the hotel and take a swim in this glorious massive pool all by myself!
My little hut...My little hut...
My little hut...

Small, but clean and efficient... no need to be inside anyways!
My beachMy beach
My beach

The great thing about visiting the east coast of Thailand during off season is that there is no one else there... except for a very convenient group of kite surfing boys from Australia and France. Nice.


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb