First Week almost over


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 24th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

Just a quick note to let you all know this is where my travel blog will be for the next six months. You should all get an email after I've added an entry and you can post comments and view the pictures that I upload later. Its a public blog so I'll also be putting in travel tips and advice for other travellers that may view the blog.

Well after the excitement at Heathrow last week the fight managed to take off only 1 1/2 hours late and I got to Bangkok around 6pm on the Friday. The flight was ok, couldn't sleep much and was very excited!!. Getting to the city centre took ages in the traffic. My first experience of Bangkok was getting dropped off at the wrong end of Khaosan Road to where my hotel was. I had to barge through the crowds with my rucksack and bags. One guy came up to me and tried to sell me a brand new suit. I explained that I wouldn't be needing one for a while!! Hopefully when I go back in a few weeks I'll look more like a grungy traveller with my beard so will not get any more suit offers. Three days in Bangkok was plenty, the Khaosan road area is amazing, lots of night stalls selling everthing, places to eat, bars showing films and all the football- managed to watch Wasps get stuffed by Munster !! Gullivers on Khaosan Road is a good bar to go to, cheap food and drinks, pool tables, sport etc and lots of travellers. Had a great spa day at the Oriental, went on a boat trip, slept lots and that's about it for Bangkok part One!

On Monday I flew to Krabi and stayed at the Ban To guesthouse which is a really sociable place with nice air-con rooms for 600 Bhat. Stayed there for one night before starting the Island hopping beach part of the trip.

Its taken about 5 days to get over the jet lag and starting to sleep normal hours now. I'm in Ko Lanta which is a lovely Island south of Krabi. I'll do another blog entry in a few days and will try and upload soe pictures.

Hope everyone is doing ok back home. Just got a text from Goody to say Spurs beat Arsenal 5-1. Whats going on !!!!!

Rob














Advertisement



24th January 2008

Can't wait for some pics!
Hey LLCC, Sounds wonderful. I'm looking forward to hearing it all. Skank2 x

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb