Every trip has its off day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 19th 2008
Published: January 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Erawan FallsErawan FallsErawan Falls

The water is crystal clear and the temperature perfect for swimming, although there are little fish sharing the water with you.
Today was an..."ugh" day for me. I woke up to find ants in my clothing: I stupidly left a bag with crumbs in it inside the bag I was using to carry my change of clothing in Kanchanaburi. I had to shake off ants from my things. Fortunately, it wasn't a lot of ants and they were tiny, so it didn't bother me too much (I know my sister, if you're reading this, would have had a heart attack if it happened to you) but it was annoying.

I then got a bus from Kanchanaburi to Erawan National Park, home of the beautiful Erawan Falls. The waterfall is 7 tiers and takes about an hour to reach tier 7. The waterfalls aren't particularly high but they are wonderful and the water is great to swim in. After 5 days in Thailand, finally being able to get into water was refreshing! However, when I got back out, I had a long wait to get back: I thought the next bus back to town was coming at 1, but it turned out to be 2 so I had to wait slightly over an hour to get back. After clearing up my affairs
Erawan Falls, Nature's Own SlideErawan Falls, Nature's Own SlideErawan Falls, Nature's Own Slide

I didn't do this as it was at a lower tier and I was still dressed for hiking up further, but some people stopped here to slide down into the just deep enough water. Looked pretty fun.
in Kanchanaburi, I went to get a bus to Bangkok. I wanted a first class bus, but the people at the bus terminal gave me all sorts of wrong information, and I ended up waiting for a bus that never came. After wasting an unnecessary hour in the terminal, I ended up taking a 2nd class bus I could have taken an hour ago had the terminal had better information about when which busses arrive. I ended up spending over 4 hours on busses today.

I just got back into Bangkok and did a bit of shopping, and after this plan to order some delivery pizza (hey, after 2.5 weeks in the East you get a little homesick). Today was a bit of an off-day, although the waterfalls I came to see were great. The trouble with busses and the long hot bus rides I finally got shook me a little, but tomorrow I head for a new destination, one where I can relax a bit more than I have here in Bangkok. This sightseeing trip (and the one I did to Europe last year) are very fast paced and hectic; I hope to slow things down a bit
Erawan National ParkErawan National ParkErawan National Park

As I have previously mentioned, the king's image is absolutely everywhere in Thailand.
when I get to the beach tomorrow. Ciao for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb