Thai Sim Cards and Security Goodies


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 17th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thai Sim Card



Just a quick entry today as I am packing my gear for tomorrow's night train to Chiang Mai.

I have read many questions online asking about Thai Sim cards so I will let you all know how I go with the card I purchased today. Got a 12 Call card from the 7/11 for 50 baht and a top up card for 300 baht (you can get smaller or larger top up cards). It was all so easy, just put in your sim card and follow the instructions in English, was up and running in 5 minutes. I sent a local text message which cost 2 baht and have had incoming calls, all works well. This is much cheaper than global roaming fees. Will let you know what the coverage is like in the country areas but from all reports 12 Call have good coverage - will soon find out. It is handy to have a mobile in case I need to contact Hotels or friends and most guesthouses will pick you up from the train or bus station if you give them a call.

Security



Some recommendations for your security here. I have found it very safe in Bangkok as long as you use some common sense and be carefull. There is a fair chance at least once you may be pickpocketed, I was on my last trip here and saved by having a wallet with a chain which you can hook up to your trousers. If I am carrying my passport I am using one of those pouches you can wear around your neck. I usually leave my passport in the room safe at the hotel and carry a photocopy of the passport and visa page. I would not carry all my cash or credit cards - leave a spare card and some cash in a safe place. I have a leash on my back pack which attaches to my trousers just in case I leave it somewhere while distracted, have also found this works well. Have done the same with my camera as well with a cord to hang around my neck so I don't drop it anywhere. Sounds like a lot of cords etc but I feel more secure.

Well I will be going out soon for my evening meal and maybe some more Karoake tonight, really looking forward to my trip to Chiang Mai and visit to the Elephant Nature Foundation for 2 days.

Just had a phone call from my sister and my Father is on the mend after his recent heart surgery - great news


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb