Phase I: A lot of flying...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 17th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Not exactly sure if its Monday or Sunday right now (I guess Monday according to the calendar on the wall next to me). The flight out of St. Kitts was of course delayed but our first night off island was spent in a nice hotel with a good meal.

The next day started our travel halfway around the world with a delayed flight out of Miami and then a run thru the DC airport to our flight to Tokyo. Tokyo is an amazing airport and I'm looking forward to stopping there no the way back. Lot of great shopping and sushi! Our Tokyo flight was great, the whole group of us hung out in the galley with one of the attendants and well drank and got a little to rowdy that it had to be broken up. We hit major turbulence over Siberia (not joking literally Siberia). I'm a learning a lot of geography as we're flying so its really exciting.

Our flight to Bangkok was only 6 hours but it felt longer and I think that flight was the one that hit me the most leaving me with a headache, clogged sinuses, and swollen ankles. But I'm in Bangkok! We got here 'bout 11:30 last night and ended up at our hostel which is really very cute despite having to walk down a dark alley to get too.

We went out last night and got some street food-oh so very good! Then hit of all places, an Irish pub. Where an English guy turned to talk to me assuming I was Canadian but when found out we were American scowled and turned away. Needless to say a group of 6 women attracts guys so there were lot of people around. Sadly I was exhausted so didn't last very long before having to hit the sheets.

What I can tell you of Bangkok so far is that the highways are much like NYC and the buildings are huge! We staying on Ko San Road and its crazy the whole road is closed and as we walked to our hostel there was nothing but drunk young adults wandering up and down the road with Thai prostitutes and yes some are transvestites. Its kind of interesting to see the drunk guys hitting on these "girls".

Well we're off to the center we're we'll be most of the time we're here later today. Hope everyone is doing well and miss you all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb