Tired Eyes in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 9th 2007
Published: December 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I left Waterloo's nasty climate 6am on Friday and the craziness of that life behind. They airways transit dude was very professional and on time, I on the other hand was less than on my game. When the buzzer went and he was downstairs I was right in the middle of a dream!! But, in keeping with the pace of life recently, I was showered, shaved and in the van in 7 mins!BYe Bye snow Bangkok would surely be different and slower, or I will be in slower in Bangkok more likely.
(my defense is I set my clock wrong but a poor one I agree).

The flight on Air Canada was via Hong Kong aboard a Boeing 777. It was excellent ( as excellent as 16 hrs on a plane can be). Surprisingly, I was sitting beside a "Kitchener" neighbour from the Phillipines. In between watching the recent "dargeeling tea" movie I engoyed the chats we had together about life as an immigrant to Canada. Apart from seeing amazing places the people I meet are surely why I continue to travel out of a pack, with no fixed abode. Its was facinating at 22 and still is now 15 yrs later. I sort of expect one day, I'll prefer the all in package on the water, but not yet obviously. I'm moving out of the "back"packing adding a bit of "flash"packing. Private rooms, with a private hot shower. But, i must say I miss the interaction of the communal hostel. Maybe I'll revert back we will see.

I picked the the oldest running "art deco" hotel in Bangkok (so the lonely planet said). The "Royal Hotel" in the old city as its close to the Grand Palace. Bangkok is not the most inviting place upon arrival, plenty of friendly hawkers selling safe taxi's (even the airport sponsers one group). Better to take the Airport Express bus AE2. It was perfect for 150 Baht. The Hawkers are starting at 1000 Baht and playing on your fear to get you "into" the cab. Though I believe the metered cabs are fair so I'm told. But really the AE bus stops 4 times and your on Kao San Raod, a cab cant be much quicker. The Royal is okay perfect for me to get over jet lag. Quiet, Clean and a 24 hour cofee bar that seems to gather people. There is a night "watch" person on each floor (granted sleeping but there!), but I think thats to prevent the hotel becoming a home of exploitation of the locals (sex tourism) rather than any specific safety/ security issue... at least i hope thats what its about. My stuff is in the room and I hope its a safe and responsible hotel.

I met a friend from KW last night at the Royal hotel also (coordinated meeting). She was here fighting in an international Thai kickboxing contest. We made use of the 7 hours crossover time and she gave me a quick intro the area and then we went out to a local Thai fighting arena and dinner after at1:30am outdoors "Steaming hot rice, garlic peppered chicken dish"...so nice and beers. I will love that part of Thailand the food and the weather. It helped to see a familiar face upon arriving. Bangkok is so big and there is so many Hawkers. I'm still warming too Bangkok its in your face. I also havent slept longer than an hour or two so thats got to be fixed today. After some sights!! It was a beautiful night eating on the outdoor patio last night, I'll try that again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb