Loving the Khao San Road!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 6th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

me & Kim - first day hereme & Kim - first day hereme & Kim - first day here

Just arrived and gone for our first drink
Well I finally arrived back to the Khao San Road 2 days ago and it hasn't changed one bit!! My favourite food stall is still here, the smells, sounds and chaos is still exactly the same! I love it!! Plus this time i get to stay in a swanky hotel with a swimming pool instead of a room resembling a cell!!

To those of you that didn't know me when I travelled before, or don't remember my emails from before, the Khao San Road is the backpacker area of Bangkok. Its probably the cheapest area you can stay in Bangkok, so all of us cheapskate backpackers love it!! It's lined with stalls selling almost everything you could possibly need travelling - even rucksacks!! Who comes travelling with no rucksack eh?? Although that would be kind of cool, just coming here empty handed and being able to go on a shopping spree - everything is so cheap, it's amazing!! I just brought myself 2 new pairs of Birkenstocks (or pretend ones), a new watch and a new bikini - all for less than 15 quid!! bargain!!

Then as well as the clothes and accessories stalls are the food stalls -
Kim by VW busKim by VW busKim by VW bus

VW bus is also a bar!
which are amazing!! Most of my meals in the last 2 days have been bought from these stalls for about 30p!! So far all I've eaten is Thai food - I'm going to try to stay away from Western food this time and make the most of being able to have all this yummy food for a fraction of the cost of my local takeaway back home. Plus I think its probably healthier as they put vegetables in everything. Kim (the girl I'm travelling with) has tried some of the Thai food for the first time and likes most of it, although this morning I gave her some of my Tom Yam Geung (HOT prawn soup) and she wasn't so keen. I think she will get used to the spices eventually. I thought it was gorgeous though - it came with about 20 prawns and the prawns out here are almost king prawn size, so it would have been enough for 2 people, but you know me, I'm a pig, so I managed it all by myself!! Maybe I wont lose weight on this trip after all!!

We've spent most of the last 2 days just chilling out, getting
Me dancing while drunkMe dancing while drunkMe dancing while drunk

You can tell just how drunk I got!!
used to the heat. The weather has been gorgeous, really hot and sunny so we've just been shopping, eating, drinking lazing by the pool and drinking quite a lot!! Our first night here, to try and get used to the time difference we decided to go out and get drunk to help us sleep (its 7 hours ahead here). We went to a club and danced til 2am, then we went back to our hotel and 2 Irish girls living in the next room invited us in, so we ended up drinking and chatting til 5am! The next day I had the hangover from hell!! We had originally planned to go and see the temples, but both of us were too hungover, so we just chilled by the pool instead and worked on our tans. We'll just have to see them next time we're in Bangkok instead (in about 5 weeks).

So overall, it's been a great start to the trip. Next stop Kanchanaburi.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Our swimming poolOur swimming pool
Our swimming pool

Our gorgeous swimming pool
my favourite street food stallmy favourite street food stall
my favourite street food stall

My favourite street food stall
tuk tuktuk tuk
tuk tuk

Tuk tuk
thai friendsthai friends
thai friends

Some Thai girls we made friends with
the Khao San Roadthe Khao San Road
the Khao San Road

The Khao San Road


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb