slow boat to Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 11th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As many of us were looking to get to Chiang Mai earlier, especially our tour leader Bom (he is from there) we traded our last day near the Lao/Thai border for extra time there.

Crossing from Laos to Thailand is usually done by boat and then connecting to a bus. On the boat ride, I was giving a couple of massages, and then I was asked by Bom to say 'thank you' to the crew on behalf of the group. I asked him why he wanted me to do it, and he said it was because I was a grateful person.

Chiang Mai is exactly how I remember it, busy and fun. 3 years ago I took a Thai Massage course and met a handsome, young, green-eyed Italian called Stefano. He was also in Chiang Mai and when I arrived at the hotel, he came and whisked me away on his scooter. I returned to say goodbye to my friends the next day as they were departing for Bangkok, with promises to meet a couple of them in a few days. Stefano and I spent some time catching up, massaging, and shopping in the most incredible night market in SE Asia. On the night bus to Bangkok, I became pretty sick and vomiting a lot (thank Shiva there was a toilet on the bus!) Arriving in the early Bangkok haze, I promptly bought 2 fresh coconuts (for the water) and within minutes, was feeling heaps of relief!

When Stefano departed for the airport, I was still sleeping off my sickness. When I awoke, I went out to find my friends. They were in the Irish Bar (surprise) and still feeling a bit green, didn't stay too long and agreed to meet up the next day. Realizing the 4 month mark of my journey was creeping in, I was feeling the need to come home. I called Angie (best travel agent ever) and changed my flight to leave for San Francisco a few days earlier. I was going to head south for some beach, but hell, it was still rainy season, and I live 6 blocks from the famous South Beach..

So once again I depart Thailand wanting more...but so relieved to be crossing the Pacific.

13 or 14 hours of travel later, I arrived in SFO airport. The customs guy stopped me. Looking at my full passport, he asked me my reason for travelling. I answered 'experience.' He wanted to know how much money I took with me. He wanted to know what I did for a living. I replied 'massage therapist', and he asked me how long I was doing that, I said '3 years'. As he was typing I let him know I would be in town for a week if he needed me. He laughed, handed me my passport, and said 'welcome home'.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb