Sawatdeeka from Thailand!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 22nd 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sawatdeeka from Thailand!

I am writing about my time in Thailand from last week. Sorry I am a little behind.

I arrived in Bangkok after a short flight from Hong Kong on Thursday afternoon and was excitedly met by my cousin Jenny and her roommate Crystal! I was happy to arrive in Thailand because I have wanted to go forever. They live in a place called Thanna City not far from the airport and live in a great little 2-bedroom apt on the 4th floor. After being there for only half and hour we hopped into a cab to go to the Black Eyed Peas concert. There were many ex-pats as well as Thais there. The opening band was Click Five who were great and played a song called "Jenny"-needless to say Jenny was excited. Then the BEPs came on. They were high energy and put on a great show with all the favourite songs sung! The venue was smaller than the size of the Ricoh colliseum in Toronto and the tickets cost about $20 CDN. Fergie sang some of her songs from her own album "The Duchess" and the others showcased their songs too. It was a great show!

Friday morning I got the chance to teach kindergarten with Jenny. I taught patterns, read some stories and heard "i love you" about 20 times. The 8 kids that Jenny teaches are so cute! They were also rehearsing for a production of Thumbelina and so I got to see them practice. I totally respect the work of the kindergarten teachers- I don't have that patience but Jenny is an expert and it was awesome to see her teach too.

After school I went to see the premiere of a new thai-english movie that was written and directed by Jenny's friend Rose's friend Nate. We all had to stand to honour the king before the movie started but then all was as it is in N.A. The name of the movie escapes me at the moment.

The night was complete with pad thai dinner costing about 95baht which is $3 CDN and then home to pack for the Philippines.

Hope all is well.

More to come about Manila and the rest.

Love Katy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.727s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 14; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb