Bangkok Blow out (Yes that word was out!)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 15th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After my marathon bus journey from Nepal I was pretty much dead on my feet when I reached Delhi airport to catch my plane to Bangkok. I did however manage to potentially tee up a tour fixture for my cricket team next year with a Nepali guy who lives in Finland !?

3 hours later and I was back in Bangkok, one of my favourite cities. I jumped in a cab and headed straight for Chinatown and had breakfast with my old mate Noppodol who is the manager of the Grand China Princess Hotel (bit like a Hilton). Top boy that he is he gave me an 80% discount and I spent the rest of the day between my massive bed and the bath..... a BATH! after 6 weeks of cold showers this was luxury!

I eventually made it out of my room at about 22.00 and headed down to the Khao San Road (traveller central) and watched a fantastic cover band then ended up in a tatoo shop with a bloke from Madrid while he got a lifelong memento of his time in Bangkok. Inexplicably he decided that a tattoo of Woody Woodpecker smoking a cigar would be the perfect souvenir! We the went to a club and ended up being joined by a Finnish bloke, 2 Sweedish girls and 2 German lads.

As they all drifted off, myself, Finnish lad and one of the Swedes were walking past the 24 hour bar on Khao San and were acosted by a pissed up Alfie moon look alike and a very strange French Man. The Alfie Moon was actually a top bloke and I stayed with him for the next 24 hours or so. We decided to play the UN game which basically involves shouting countries at passers by and if you are correct you have to go and grab them and get them to sit and have a drink and join the game. Between 06.00 and 12.00 we managed to get 18 different nationalities which was quite an achievement!

A bit later I saw a bloke passed out on the street over the road and went and rescued him.... what a tool, he basically had drank a bottle of whiskey and passed out and his Thai wife was not impressed! Anyway, Alfie (who lives in Bangkok with his Fiance) had also been out since the night before and had hired a Thai Rasta to drive his car for him so when his fiance called we piled in to go and see her. They are a lovely couple and we spent the next 5 or 6 hours in their local with a couple of the UN game survivors and a bunch of ex-pats.

Alfie and Laura then took us to Nana Plaza (where all the go-go bars are) to show us what it was all about. The place actually had a mechanical Bull in it! I guess it will come as no surprise to those who know me that I ended up 30 odd hours into a drinking session with complete strangers on a mechanical bull in a Thai go-go bar :-)

After that It was a club and eventually finished about 36 hours after starting, not a bad effort! Since then I have been out every night and not yet been home before it got light so will be taking it easy for the next few days! It didn't help that the Rugby did not kick off here until 02.00 but what a result! I watched the Saffa's last night aswell and although they looked strong they do have a habit of choking so we are still in there with a shout. I just need to make sure that I am somewhere that is likely to have it on the TV next week, maybe Hanoi is a good shout.

Well, With the blow out over and done I will be of to either Laos or Koh Tao in the next couple of hours so will probably be out of Tinternet range for a little while.

Stay Safe kids :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb