Meh...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 21st 2004
Published: September 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Arrival hall at Don MuangArrival hall at Don MuangArrival hall at Don Muang

10 hours of my life that I would like to have refunded.
Waking up early morning (more like noon actually) somewhere over the Bengal Sea. I'm having breakfast and photographing the rivers of Myanmar. It is a beautiful day with cumulus clouds stacking up over the wilderness. At around 2 pm we're down on the ground and I now face another 10 hours of waiting around until the next leg of the journey to Shanghai. I weigh the options, thinking about heading in to town for a hotel with a nice shower and some sleep, as my original plan of going flight-sightseeing for the day is now a lost opportunity that I fortunately do not have to think about.

I decide to stick around at the airport and spend an insanely boring afternoon walking around the corridors and people watching, hoping the hours will soon whisk away. My travel companion Kay finally arrives at 9 pm. I notice she's kinda tired too, and we're not having much meaningful conversation, just waiting for our flight to finally take off. Finally onboard she's asleep before they can even serve the sandwich, but apparently ten boring hours was not enough to make me sleepy since I have more problems coming to rest, and instead have to enjoy watching my fellow passengers dozing off one by one. Oh joy!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 25; qc: 155; dbt: 0.2139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb