A long break away in Sout-East Asia


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 26th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Saturday October,27th 2007
The house is finally empty. The new renter may come in. What was supposed to be a day off is just a late evening off. It’s good to enjoy a diner in a pizza restaurant with the kids and their mother.

Sunday October, 28th 2007
Time to transfer the last stuff to my mum. I’m doing the last paperwork.On the way back, the radio is playing the “Final Countdown”. Very appropriate. I’m thinking that if I had not messed up with too many things at last moment, this could have been a really enjoyable day. Fortunately, people around have been really helpful and understanding.

Tuesday October, 30th 2007
Arrival in Bangkok. The heat. The border check. Getting the luggage. Finding a guesthouse. Eating. Falling asleep. The good thing about being so tired is that I didn’t even feel the jetlag. I just slept the whole night.

Wednesday October, 31st 2007
It's a rainy day in Bangkok. This day is devoted to inquiry at embassies and visa application. First, I went to Myanmar Embassy. It was possible to get a visa but I would have to wait till Monday till I get it. Second, it seems that the only way to enter the country is flying to Rangoon. Finally, I decided not to apply. Then, I went to the Khmer Embassy as the Lonely Planet advices to get the visa in Bangkok rather then at the border, but the Embassy moved away. In the afternoon, I went to the Lao embassy and got a one month visa valid till the end of december.

Thursday November, 1st 2007
I bought a train ticket to Nakhon Ratchasima for tomorrow. Then did some shopping : the new edition of Lonely Planet China and the one about Tibet,

Friday November, 2nd 2007
I've heard about the rehearsal of the royal barges procession. So, I've changed my mind. I'm going to stay another day in Bangkok. I'm also trying another guesthouse : the Apple Guest House 2. The room is not much different from the RS guesthouse but there is a place where people meet.
Definitely, my ruck bag is too heavy and the things I bought in Bangkok don't help. I have to get rid of a few things. I finished a novel and put the book on the pile for rent in the guesthouse but that doesn't change much.
The afternoon is fine. I can see the the royal barges going down the Chao Phraya River and then up. I didn't count but I think there were at least 15 boats. I found it impressive.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb