Living in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 24th 2007
Published: August 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I lived in Bangkok during the year 2000 and it was quite an eye opening experience! Quite a big change from the small town life in Vermont. The first thing that really surprised me were the people. Strangers would walk up to you on the street and engage in a conversation. Some were just touts trying to lure a foreigner (farang) to a nearby massage parlor but others were simply friendly with no motives other than to chat a bit. I remember waiting on the Skytrain platform one day and one of the guards asked if it was ok to speak with me so he could practice his English. While living in Thailand, I was building several websites including one from my home state, Vermonter.com and of course my business site, Alpine Web Media. My wife is Thai and we return to Bangkok every couple years. Our next trip is planned for 2008 and I hope to start building an all new Bangkok website at that time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb