Back In Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've spent the past few days meandering around Bangkok soaking up the sites. Mainly the temples such as the Grand Palace & Wat Arun. Which meant I had to don shoes, Jeans & a shirt to enter as sleeveless shirts, shorts & flip flops are strictly forbidden. This basically meant that I had to sweat my nuts off more than usual, something I thought I was getting used to, but the more you wear the harder it gets. But it is was worth it as these sites were quite simply stunning to observe. The amount of time and effort it must have taken to create these things is almost unimaginable.

I also had a butchers at Bangkoks very own China Town & it pisses all over Londons. But again as all things bangkok it is absoulte chaos, it is fueled with tiny alleyways about as wide as Ronnie Corbett and crammed full of people hustling and bustling. Not only do you find yourself dodging oncoming human traffic but you also have to compete with motorbikes that are razzing franticly down the alleyways reaping havoc.

As for tonight, me and coach John went to MBK which is a massive shopping centre complex. To get there we took a motorbike taxi which at first I was slightly concerned about beacause I've seen the way these crazy Thai's drive, and the fact that it was chucking it down didn't exactly motivate my confidence. But as it turns out it was a rather fun experience and would give most rides at Alton Towers a run for their money. There was a few near misses it has to be said but as long as you hold on tight when necessary you get to escape with your life seemingly intact.

The main focus of this trip to MBK (sorry John) was to decide just who exactly out of John and I was the daddy of pro evolution soccer on the PS2. In a nutshell I kicked his arse and I swear I witnessed a tear in his eye. But he remained relatively brave and to celebrate my victory and to help John get over his loss we made a trip to Burger King on the way home to see if we could tackle the triple whopper! This proved to be a challenge but the mission was a success and I am currently not feeling the need to ever feed again.

One last note, I've got a ticket for the opening game of the Asian Cup to see Thailand Vs Iraq on the 7th July. So In order to attend this I'm going to have to leave & re-enter the Thailand so I can get another 30 days as my current time limit in the country is almost up. I've decided to head to Laos, I've heard lost about it and it's meant to be a lot tamer than Thailand & not so in your face. Whether this is true or not remains to be seen.

As I look to leave Thailand here are some of the main features I have noticed about the place since being here:

* There are possibly more 7 Eleven convenience stores than there are people, closely followed by massage parlours and taylors

* They all drive like Knobbers

* Bangkok is very daunting at first but with time becomes more approachable

* Thai music is a lot to be desired for, I praise the invention of the I-pod

* If they don't understand you here they lose face & wont even look at you

* They all support either Man Utd or Chelski, when I say West Ham to them they lose face as they don't know what I'm talking about

* Thai girls are quite fit

* Motorbike Taxi's are fun

* Triple Whoppers from Burger King, so good but yet so bad, surely they are illegal?

* Copyright laws appear to be non existent

* Chang Beer is good

* There appears to be an abundance of dirty old Gary Glitter type westerners walking around with barely legal looking Thai Girls

* That people filling up there vehicles at the petrol station with a fag on is the norm

* Listening to 'The End' by 'The Doors' on a long bus journey is magic.

* To be weary, these guys love ripping off the farang




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



8th July 2007

MBK Rules
I love MBK so I thought I would share a little trivia. MBK stands for Maboonkrong and is named after this billionaire tiny japenese man Mr.Ma and his thai wife Mrs.Boonkrong Ah thank you. Have you gone to the night bazzare yet? Try the fish balls (balls of fish)!

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb