Day of Scams


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 8th 2006
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

8th Jul 2006
The Day of Scams

It's day 3 here, and this was the first day I Know I was scammed. Tuk Tuk driver took us to long boat tour of canel system. When we got there tour was 1000bait ( $25) we talked him down to 600bait ($15). Later on I foundout we should have only paid about 300Bait ($7.50). on the tour there was many places where we stoped and had to pay to see different things or rafts floates up selling different items and beer/water. Need to buy bread from old lady to feed the fish. It was actual really fun to see how many different ways they could get money out of you.
I meet another Canadian in the Hong Kong airport ( the most amazing airport I have ever seen) on my 2 hour layover. Andrew. We seem to be traveling in the same direction so it looks as if I will be hanging out with him for the next week and a half. We will be heading to Chang Mai in northern Thialand and going on a 3 day trek through the hills. Then I'm heading to Loas.

Just a little note for any one thinking of traveling over here don't bring anything you can buy everything here cheaper then you could ever by it at home. I found the same pants I bought at home for $60, herefor $9.


Trust of faith: I have given up my passport for a couple of days so I can get my Veitnam Visa I will be in Chang Mai by the time my Visa is aproved. My travel agent here in Bankok promises me it will arrive at my guest house in Chang Mai. We will see???

talk to you soon

Tim




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Khao San Road Khao San Road
Khao San Road

Back Packers Getto


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb