Last Days in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Its been a few days since my last entry, and I've done much since then. Just after finishing my last entry I bumped into my old schoolmates Andoni, Jacko and Johnny on the Khao San Road. Its really crazy when that happens, I just spotted them as we meandered down the manic street. Had a good chat - turns out they're headed for an island called Kho Chang for the last 2 weeks of their immense travels. That night did not end so well though - I lost my camera and along with it about 100 photos of my days in Bangkok. But Thailand wasn't going to stop for me, so I dipped into my savings to buy a new camera.

After so many days, the city which at once seems so vibrant and full of life begins to get on top off you, and I knew it was time to move on. Before I could do this though, I knew I had to visit the Grand Palace and the Temple of the Emerald Buddha. This meant staying another day, but I decided it was worth it - The temples were simply stunning, with hundreds of golden droplets which seemed to balance in the atmosphere somehow. I was simply in awe of this sight, it really is quite stunning.

For the rest of our last day in Bangkok myself and Stuart decided to get a foot massage - amazing. For the equivolent of 180pence we had 30 minutes of rubbing, prodding and poking and felt great afterwards. As we walked back to our hostel to meet Nadine we then decided to head for Phuket the next day - an island to the south - and that is where we are now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb