"If I were a rich man....."


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

Got a few hours to kill before getting the overnight bus to Laos so what better than sitting in an aircon internet cafe for a while. Not much to report on the past two days in terms of exciting things. I've pretty much just been relaxing in the bars and using the swimming pool at my hostel. However I have managed to lose my credit card and I am no longer the king of backpackers ( Quote "in the land of the backpacker, the one with the empty creditcard is king" - Brett Hodge 2007ad ). I think i left it in an ATM after the long bus journey to Bangkok. Luckily I had withdrawn a fair amount and Laos is laughably cheap but even so I now need to be a it more careful with my spending. Nic is going to send me money via western union when I need it. Theres also my virginity to sell and a kidney....... 😊

There was one request for my bruise photo from the very recently married Tanya - you can't be bored already 😊 and one strongly worded decline from Phill so I'll not be putting it online.

Went to get my Vietnamese visa yesterday having changed a lot of Baht into $US to pay the US$35 visa fee and then found that they only accept Baht and it cost 2500Baht which is equivalent to US$75. With my lost card this burnt up a fair bit of money but had to be done. I need to go back today to pick up the visa as they take 24 hours. Scrapping the barrel giving you this info but it might be useful to anyone travelling that needs to do the same thing.

Not much to report really, maybe some personal replies are in order :

Tanya - will keep the photo for you. Hope married life is going well.

Phill - Good luck with your truck test. Glad to hear your getting your citizenship too - will you stop following that nancy boy soccer now and start watching some real football ?

Terry and Denise - I knew you were due for another trip to QLD. Does this mean you won't be coming over to Vietnam now ?

Paul - Hope your enjoying the space and freedom of looking after our house. Have you been through all the DVD's yet ? Don't worry too much about the weeding but if you do see any big f#@kers growing on the lawns then it would help if you can remove them.

Linda - Thanks for the updates. Glad you haven't mentioned any big IT dramas so im guessing the contractor is doing well

Jarrod - I see the roo's are still up there - I can smell the money already

Travis - Im assuming Amanda and baby are travelling well. Have you worked out the layout for the grand final and new baby party we are having in your garage yet ? 😊

Gary - sorry my blogs depress you when your sitting in the bank doing paperwork but maybe it'll encourage you to save a bit of money and come visit 😊 beers cheap in oz too if that helps.

Michelle and Kali - no news is good news

Gemma - replied to you yesterday so sorry nothing to add here 😊

Lizzy ( Niks mum ) - I'll tease you now and call you lizzy, but when we see you next month I've already said to Nik that you I can gang up and tease her. Looking forward to your visit.

ok, thats enough now. A big hello to my family and standard hello to everyone else ( whatever that means )

ding, ding - next stop Vientiane !




Advertisement



12th June 2007

Wot no plastic!
When I asked you to take care of yourself when travelling, I didn't think it necessary to tell you to always make sure you also took care of the three other most important things when travelling - passport, tickets and credit card. What a Wally Brett. Bet someone has a field day with your card so hope you could cancel it and not be liable for any misuse. Hope the loss doesn't inhibit the rest of your trip. You will be walking around with cash when Nikki sends some dosh so you will have to be even more careful and keep it hidden. Don't want you to have to go home prematurely 'cos we will miss the blogs!! I should cut down on the amber nectar and drink more water, though with the prices you are paying it is probably cheaper to drink beer. I'm following your journey on a map and Tony showed Josh on his globe, all very envious and look forward to the next chapter of Brett's Odyssey. Love from all the Poms and me. xxx
13th June 2007

Nancy Boy??
You need to be careful using terms like that over there!! I will still follow the FOOTBALL but could be inspired to watch an AFL game with you on your return providing you explain what goes on and we can have beer. OK? Passed the test with flying colours, only half a point!! They have begged me to become a citizen in my interview and I have told them that I will consider their kind offer if only to get them to stop leaving messages on my machine. Can't wait!! Must be time for another party!! Gotta go mate, all this talk of beer, fun and relaxing is making me utterley sick! Take care and I will see you soon
15th June 2007

Hello from Dreary Bunbury
Hi Brett, We're back from Port Douglas and I am in Bunbury now sorting out some property stuff. Sounds like you're having a blast. I think we;ve used up all our holiday dollars for a while now though :( How much longer are you away for? Cheers, Terry

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb