Days 30-34: Dehli Departures & One Night In Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 16th 2005
Published: August 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Departing Dehli put a smile on my face. Good karma abounded in the final days and hours. Dehli seemed familiar upon my return and much easier than I had remembered. I ventured around and about visiting the famed B'hai Temple in the shape of a lotus flower, went to a market, had a last supper with my remaining travel mates. I also committed a traveler's offense in India--I ate at McDonald's. 😊 The veggie burger was a nice diversion from Indian food. The ironic thing is that I love India food...in fact it is one of my favorite types of food. However, at this juncture, I think some respite from Indian food is desired.

I spent my last hours at the airport with Sara and Katie. They were traveling to Sri Lanka where I hope their travels will be safe (being that the foreign minister was just assassinated on Friday). Their flight left before my 1 am departure, thus I had some time to read and explore prior to boarding. Since I had a minimal number of rupees there was not a lot of exploring to be done. I did decide to attempt exchanging a 10 rupee note into two 5 bills (not a common currency, but I always hold onto small amounts of currency from countries where I have traveled. ) I approached one vendor and was told they did not have any notes. Then another. The lad checked the register then his wallet, no luck. Then he told me to wait and he'd find one for me. His friend watched the store as he went to one store and then yet another, criss-crossing the airport. He finally returned with the notes in had (5 rupees is about one penny). The kindness of strangers.

Presently I am at the Bangkok airport, which has become a second home of sorts. This is my fifth and final time here. Next I am off to Hong Kong (thanks again Cara for all the information and print outs about your former home!). My one day and one night in Bangkok (now you too can have the One Night in Bangkok song in your head) have been a much needed respite. And despite my exhaustion from my flight the night prior, I was able to partake in much that Bangkok has to offer. I will blame my sleep deprivation on my willingness to be cohersed into a tuk-tuk scandal, but c'est la vie. I was able to see and do almost everything I wanted: The Grand Palace, a boat ride, riding the Sky Train, exploring a quite neighborhood which was recommended to me, walking through notorious Kao San Road, and most importantly having some yummy Pad Thai and several massages (yesterday and today--both for about $5-6). My feet are now happy, and I feel ready to conquor Hong Kong!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



16th August 2005

Hi Wendy! I think that my spam software was bouncing your journal entries. As a result, I missed most of India. I just got caught up and I have to say - what an amazing experience! It sounds like you'll be ready to come home, though. Have a great time in Hong Kong. As for Chicago news, today the Sun Times is reporting that Carol Mosely Braun may run for mayor. Also, we finally got some much needed rain this weekend. See you soon!
16th August 2005

Rupees!
"Since I had a minimal number of rupees there was not a lot of exploring to be done" Wendy, it sounds like you have had some forbidden fun contracting a minimal case of Rupees and all. Don't worry, just see your doctor when you get home and that should clear it right up?

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb