Back in Bankok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 30th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up rather late.

While in Cambodia my electric raser had decided that it had had enough so today I decided to go down town and buy a new one. Hadnt been down town yet but Id heard there were a few large shopping centres with all sorts of shops in it. So left the guest house and jumped into a taxi and headed for Siam square and the centre.

Got there relatively quickley jumped out and immediatly started heading in the wrong direction and got a little lost. Ended up near the university district or something but one of the locals noticed that I looked a little confused and kindly decided to point out where Id gone wrong and Where I was supposed to head. Got to see a fare bit of the centre though. I do like the husle of Bankok.
What I really like about it is in certain areas its so packed with traffic on many different levels. I mean you have the car traffic on ground level and then you have the high way above with two decks of skytrain rail also on a higher plane. Interwoven with that are loads of pedestrian walkways to all the different shopping centres and stations. All very remanicent of blade runner or something. Just multilevels of traffic be it taxis, trains or people.

Went to the Central World Plaza which was incredibly posh and clean (white washed almost). 7 floors of expensive designer shops although the department store Zen did have a very small selection of razors, so I bought one. But this only after having tried the shopping centre next door with large super market. Had lunch here. One of the employees out side the Japanese burger joint in the Central world plaza said that this place served the best burgers in Asia (of course he would say that!). It was rather busy and the food did look good so I figured I'd give it a go. It was a rather good burger I have to say served with batered shrimp instead of chips.

Later went and checked out the other centres (siam square and MPV?) Not sure why, didnt really need anything apart from the airconditioning. The MPV centre (I think its called that) was the most Asian. Sort of something between a market and mall with dodgy dvds and gold necklace shops and cheap T-shirts. Simply wondered around. The top floor was rather facinating. Half made up entirely of arcade machines and rooms full of 29in tvs with playstations pluged. The whole place was packed with kids playing the latest shoot em ups and football games.

Rather board and tiered now I decided to next door to the cinema and watch the only thing on which was Pirates of the Caribean. The most interesting thing was the whole kings antheme before the movie in which everyone has to stand and listen and watch all the passing images of his royal highness. I call this the most interesting thing as the film quite frankley wasnt. Sucked major arse. Serious mess of a film really (plot wise, way too much going on.) Apart from Jack Sparrow, Geofry Rushes character and the 5min cool cameo of Keith Richards anyone who thought this was a good movie is easyily pleased (meow!).

On the way back I was lucky enough to share a cab with this girl who turned out to be a dive instructor down at Ko Tao (My next stop to get my PADI certificate funnily enough.) She gave me her business card for the company she works for and I said Id check it out when I get there.

That evening I headed out over the river away from Kao San for dinner. Found an outdoor Stall (outdoor kitchen really) with a few tables and chairs and a small canopy that looked busy. Figuring that with that many people the food must be good. Started off well when the beer came out and the bottle was still covered with ice but the duck curry the waitress recommended was a bit bland.

Went back to Kao San and spent ALOT of time searching through and inevetably purchasing a few dodgy albums till midnight (time just flew by today)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 11; qc: 81; dbt: 0.109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb