Bankok day 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up really really late.

Had a very lazy day. The incredible heat made me lazier then normal so it took me a while to get going today.

Went for a walk down around the corner to where the river is at and visited an old fort and park (although the fort was completely closed off so I could only really see it from the outside.)

Went for lunch just around the corner from where my guest house is situated.

That afternoon I decide to go and visit the royal palace and adjacent temples. This required a little preparation. I needed to go wearing a long sleeved shirt, long trousers (lonely planet suggested that I could get away with shorts as long as they went past my knees) and shoes. Considering how hot it was these werent the most comfortable items of atire.
By the time i'd walked the short walk to the palace I was sweating bucket loads.
I arrived only to discover that the lonely planet had misinformed me (called the lonely liar by some) and that trousers down to the ankles were required. I did try pulling my long boardies a little further down to try and bridge the gap, but this only ended up revealing my butt. I dont think the authorities would appreciate me "mooning" their beloved kings home and budda. I gave up and headed back. By the time id made it back to the guest house id probably lost a couple of stone through sweat so I tried to remedy this with an ice cream and beer. I also figured that the weather wasnt that great (over cast) so I would visit all these sights another day.

Sat and didi a bit more planning and read the paper.

Booked a trip to the Tiger Temple and water market.

Had dinner that evening at the down the road while watching the Mayweather ve de la Hoye fight. Then went back to the guest house for a drink and a bit of Mel Gibsons Apocolipto (sounds like an ice cream.)

Very unconstructive day.



Advertisement



11th May 2007

They rent out trousers and correct clothing inside the palace Jas....and to think of the stone in weight you could have saved! doh!
11th May 2007

Sport
Seen any ping pong yet?
11th May 2007

Maybe you're days would be more constructive if you got out of bed, ya hippy!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb