The conclusion...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 5th 2007
Published: April 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ViewpointViewpointViewpoint

Ko Phi Phi Don as seen from the viewpoint.
Maybe I should finish the story?

... so the last time I wrote I just finished those amazing dives at Hin Daeng and Hin Muang. After that day, I just had ONE more day left on the beach...

In the morning, I decided to hike up all the stairs to the viewpoint on the mountain on Ko Phi Phi Don. You can imagine how this felt in 40'C (i'm estimating because I really have no idea, but it was HOT) and under the strong sun. But I wanted to get some pictures of the island from up there! I had a bottle of water and my camera.... and started the climb up the stairs. I guess it wouldn't have been that hard if it weren't for the intense heat. It's easier than the Grouse Grind in Vancouver! But walking 10 minutes on flat ground under the Thai sun is exercise... slowly but surely, I made it to the top. I even beat some Thai tourists! ha! Halfway up the mountain, the insect buzzing sound (which is actually a constant sound in Thailand) really intensified! I took a small video to show you how loud it was. I'll upload
Last swimLast swimLast swim

.... I miss it already!!
it onto youtube.com in the next few days. Check it, and many other of my videos, out at the following link: My videos!

I continued hiking up the mountain... and somehow, at the top of all those stairs... there was a scooter. How did it get there??

The view from the viewpoint is breathtaking. The center of the island, where the main town is (Tonsai), has water on both sides. From the viewpoint, you see the narrow stretch of land, and the blue water surrounding it.... and in the distance is the mirage-like island Ko Phi Phi Leh. I think it looks a bit like a mirage because it is always behind a kind of haze and has a mysterious feeling to it, plus it is so amazingly beautiful that I can't believe that it actually exists.

Focusing back on Tonsai, I noticed that the narrow strip of land is looking a lot balder than in August 2004, when I was last there. The tsunami definitely had a big effect and it is quite obvious that it clear-cut a lot of palm trees and buildings. There are palm trees missing their green tops, as well as large areas
Bye-byeBye-byeBye-bye

There goes Ko Phi Phi Leh...
of rubble and construction zones. This island is in construction. They have rebuilt a lot already. In fact, they're so quick at building that in my two weeks there, I saw new restaurants and shops go from contruction zone to working condition! I had my last meal there at one of these new restaurants.
Another cause of this baldness is the increase in tourism. Tourism has increased dramatically in the last 10 years, and I don't see it slowing down any time soon. After speaking to some of the original foreigners on Ko Phi Phi, I heard how it used to be 15 or even 20 years ago. Years ago, the island was basically a deserted island; jungle surrounded by white sand beaches. It had just a few bungalows and a couple of restaurants. I wish I had seen it back then... because now it is full of hotels, restaurants, shops, dive shops, and late night party bars. I met a Dutch lady in Phnom Penh that saw the "old" Phi Phi, and prefers to keep that image in her mind and so will not return there again. I understand her... but I also understand that the world is growing
ChatuchakChatuchakChatuchak

Eve, April, and me having a lunch break at the giant weekend market.
and forever changing. Who are we to judge what is better for the locals that live there everyday? I'll bet you that many of them like the running water and increased income from tourists - although, maybe not all.
There are a lot of these kinds of Thailand travelers... talking about how wonderful Thailand used to be... and complaining how touristy it is now and how tourism is destroying the culture of the country... I'm not sure if they realize that they are also tourists......

Oops, got off topic... after the viewpoint, I returned down to Tonsai and walked across "town", down the streets lined with shops and restaurants to the beach, then I walked along the beaches and on the rocks, plus a short walk through a jungle path to Long Beach. This beach was where I spent most of my time during my last visit in Phi Phi, so it was special to me to return there for the last day. I spent the whole day on the beach... sitting at home in canada now, I wish I could go back to that day!! just one more swim!!
I met a group of French guys and ended
The Bed Supper ClubThe Bed Supper ClubThe Bed Supper Club

Eve and me chilling on a bed at Bed.
up spending the rest of the day and evening with them. These guys didn't speak much English, so I had to pull out my French!

Then there was the last morning. The French guys had invited me on a boat trip to a beach, but I couldn't go as I didn't have that much time and had to finish packing, say my good-byes to friends - and have my LAST SWIM. Then all of a sudden it was 2pm and I was on the ferry watching Ko Phi Phi Leh drift further and further away!

Next stop: Bangkok
Eve picked me up at the airport... and actually I had met a Scottish girl on the plane, whom Eve so kindly gave a ride to as well. We decided not to go out that night and wanted to reserve the party night for Saturday, plus we needed to conserve our energy for an intense shopping day at Chatuchak Weekend Market the following morning.
Chatuchak has got to be the hottest place in Bangkok. And it doesn't help that in addition to the heat, there are endless amounts of halls full of stalls with stuff for sale, lots of interesting
Star struck!Star struck!Star struck!

Eve with Peter Corp Dyrendal (She actually looks like the star to me!)
smells and foods cooking and about a million people. It is an exhausting experience, but I've always enjoyed outdoor markets rather than a/c malls. There is so much more life! I've included a picture of Eve, her cousin April, and me taking a meal break at the market.

That night Eve and I headed out to The Bed Supper club - my favorite club in Bangkok! It is half club, half restaurant/lounge. The whole place is white... with beds on the restaurant/lounge side. Check out the site for more pics. Since it is a bit pricey, it is not really on the backpacker route, and is frequented more by foreigners that live and work in Thailand, or upperclass Thai people. We ended up standing just beside the table of a famous Thai singer/actor (Peter Corp Dyrendal)! Eve was so excited!! Since I had absolutely no idea who he was, I could hold back my excitement and so went up to him and introduced him to his biggest fan, Eve. He was really nice and we both got pictures with him... she couldn't believe it!!
Then a few moments later... we ran into another "local" celebrity that Eve recognized, and again I spoke
Destination ThailandDestination ThailandDestination Thailand

The host of the show and me. Wish I could get that job! I'd be PERFECT!!!
with. But this time I had my own personal interest involved... he is an Australian guy who is a host on a Thailand travel show! My ideal job!! He even said that if I lived in Thailand, he could get me a job because they are looking for female talent for the show! unreal. but... I was on the flight home two days later! Anyway, we had a great night out!!

The next morning, Eve wanted to sleep in... my last day in Bangkok - no chance I would sleep the day away! I got up and ready to go to MBK - the SUPER shopping center. I got MYSELF from her place to MBK and back! (motorbike-taxi to the skytrain station and then took the skytrain with a transfer! and didn't get lost!!) I shopped and shopped... all the last minute things that I had on my list! and then bought a new piece of luggage to fit it all in!

In the afternoon I joined Eve and her aunt for grocery shopping at a large supermarket. This doesn't sound too exciting, but its actually interesting to go grocery shopping there - at least the first time
After partyAfter partyAfter party

After Bed closed, we went to the Tunnel Club for a bit. (Eve's friend)
anyway! The main thing I noticed - besides the obvious, that they have lots of different types of fruits and veggies that I had never seen before - was their rice section. The rice section in Canada, is about two shelves, 1 meter long each. In Thailand, it was an area as big as the fruit area in Canada, full of different types of rice!!

Then it was time to pack... the worst part of traveling! I had quite a bit of stuff, and was even worried that it wouldn't all fit in the bags! Finally it worked out... however, my initial plan not to distrub anyone and just bus home from the airport was now not possible. I emailed two of my friends in Vancouver (Marques and Marcelo) and asked if one of them might be able to pick me up... Marcelo said he could do it, but only at 5pm, 2 hours after I landed. No worries - I told him thanks, I'll wait for you! After the LONG flightS (Bangkok - Tokyo - San Fran - Vancouver) home, I cleared customs, got my luggage and walked out into the arrivals section. - I wasn't expecting anyone
MBKMBKMBK

The inside of MBK - SUPER shopping center.
to be there... but way in the distance I saw someone that really looked like Marques!! It was him! What a surprise! ... but... he wasn't there for me! By total coincidence, his job had sent him to pick someone up for work! The man was taking time to come out, so we chatted until Marcelo, Gabi and Gustavo came to get me. It was soo nice to see everyone... a month is a long time when you're used to talking basically everyday! That evening I went over to my bestest friend's place - Leticia... and everyone showed up there for a great welcome back!! Thank you!!
... it is nice to be home....
(the beach is ok too!! but next time I'll bring you all with me!!)

Now I am in Victoria... and just finished a yummy Easter dinner with my family...

Jessica

PS: by a strange coincidence.... last time I left Thailand, there was the infamous tsunami 4 months later. This time, a tsunami hit the Solomon Islands when I was on the airplane going home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Random street shot outside of MBK. Love the pink taxis!
Tuk tukTuk tuk
Tuk tuk

Taking public transport in Bangkok...
VancouverVancouver
Vancouver

Arriving in Vancouver...


9th April 2007

Thank you again for the lovely blog
It is the first time I read these blogs with the author by my side, and it is exciting to read it, even after having it told by you together with seeing the pictures. You do have a very special way to describe your experiences. I love it, and I love you. Thanks for being You.
13th April 2007

Good Blog
Hey, fellow Canadian here (Victoria), and I just got back from Thailand recently. Wanted to do some reminiscing and found your blog. Really brought back some good memories, and you write very well. I hope you enjoy being back.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb