Into Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Left Chiang Mai at noonish. At the airport in CM there is a section for Muslims to pray, and a section of carved teak chairs and rugs where only monks can sit. Wish we were that accomodating.
Bangkok new airport is a long way from the center -but I was prepared for it. Nice tazi driver who got a bit lost, but we made it to the New Siam II (thanks to David Mayers) and it's pretty close to the hippy, backpacker area. Funny to see these young kids, dressed in their gear from India; dreadlocks, baggy linen pants, long shoulder bags,......come to think of it they look straight out of a Big Sur Party! Then there's the odd "older traveler" like me who looks like they've been on the road since I left in the 60's. Course the occassional "gone bushy" guy who has his hair all up in a bun and looking like Krishna, strolling down the road w/staff and meager burlap bag.
I dropped my stuff (this ain't the Baan Orapin) and made my way out into the boulevard.....ended up at the Grand Palace. Got into the gates just before it closed. (4:30) Found the giant reclining Buddha - WOW! Arye wasn't sure he'd seen it - I don't think he would have forgotten....just elbow leaning Buddha to the top of his head is one story high.....and all Gold! I walked and walked and sweated and drank water and smoothies and photog'd like mad.
I found the river taxi to go back....the stop wasn't at some perfect little "transit station" - no - it was thru a shop and down by a shack and over by a guy selling juices...and there it was. I got on for 3 baht (about 10 cents) and off it went........to the other side of the river.......well, I thought it was just picking up people to go in my direction, but nnooooo it was just the "cross the river" ferry. So I ended up back where I started....but oh, the visuals, just as good as you can imagine! The river life...the boats.....the crappy shacks on the side of the river banks,,,,welll.....I got on the right boat and, even better, got off at the right stop! I don't have a good map of Bangkok, so it's a wonder I found my hotel again.
Decided I didn't need to go up to that funky smelling room, so I had a beer on one of the back-packers side streets where I watched that ol' world go by.
Tomorrow I'll do a bit more wandering and the next am will head for Bali.
I'm doing excellent! Keeping track of my money and belongings, staying healthy knock on wood. Talked to Blaise today from a payphone...seems all's well there. I miss you all very much and (you know who you are!!!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb